Show List Using Metric Units

Unsuccessful Ascent List for Greg Bramlet

No one can call themselves an experienced mountaineer unless they have turned back unsuccessfully from some of their summit attempts. Climbing is a game of knowing when to press on and when to bail, and these choices can mean the difference between great success and needless death. It is a misnomer, of course, to call any trip into the mountains “unsuccessful” —these attempts are often richer experiences with far more opportunities for learning and growth.

The following table shows all of Greg Bramlet's unsuccessful attempts. If the peak was climbed later, then the successful ascent date is noted, and how much time elapsed since the attempt. The “Attempt” column will be 2, 3, or other higher numbers for peaks that have been unsuccessfully attempted more than once. Unsuccessful attempts of peaks that have already been climbed are also shown.

Ascent DateTrip ReportPeak or PointElev-ftReached-ftAttemptLocationProm-ftSuccess DateTime Elapsed
1976-08-05TRPyramid Peak1401814018 USA-CO1618 
1976-08-08TRNorth Maroon Peak1401414014 USA-CO214 
1978-08-10TRMount Rainier1441114411 USA-WA132461979-08-221 Year, 12 Days Later
1978-08-22TRPre-eruption Mount Saint Helens96779677 USA-WA5917 
1980-09-01TRGrand Teton1377013770 USA-WY6530 
1982-08-05TRMount Robson1298912989 Canada-BC9249 
1982-08-18TRSnowpatch Spire1011810050 Canada-BC932 

Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks successfully climbed after unsuccessful attempt   = Unclimbed peaks  (Note: Unsuccessful attempts on previously climbed peaks are not shown)

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

Copyright © 1987-2022 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service