Show List Using Metric Units

Unsuccessful Ascent List for Craig Jones

No one can call themselves an experienced mountaineer unless they have turned back unsuccessfully from some of their summit attempts. Climbing is a game of knowing when to press on and when to bail, and these choices can mean the difference between great success and needless death. It is a misnomer, of course, to call any trip into the mountains “unsuccessful” —these attempts are often richer experiences with far more opportunities for learning and growth.

The following table shows all of Craig Jones's unsuccessful attempts. If the peak was climbed later, then the successful ascent date is noted, and how much time elapsed since the attempt. The “Attempt” column will be 2, 3, or other higher numbers for peaks that have been unsuccessfully attempted more than once. Unsuccessful attempts of peaks that have already been climbed are also shown.

Ascent DateTrip ReportPeak or PointElev-ftReached-ftAttemptLocationProm-ftSuccess DateTime Elapsed
2014-03-10TRHumphreys Peak1263311800 USA-AZ60392014-09-06180 Days Later
2014-05-05TRHumphreys Peak12633123002USA-AZ60392014-09-06124 Days Later
2015-06-05TRSnowmass Mountain1409212350 USA-CO1132 
2016-01-26TRHumphreys Peak1263311200 USA-AZ60392014-09-06Already Climbed
2019-07-04TRDeertrap Mountain69216891 USA-UT02020-06-06338 Days Later
2019-08-06TRGifford Peak66006500 USA-UT915 
2020-06-05TRThe Fin64006000 USA-UT240 
2020-08-07TROxford Peak92906900 USA-ID4010 
2020-08-24TRPollock Mountain91909000 USA-MT550 
2020-09-03 The Castle64406425 USA-WA200 
2021-11-18 Aubrey Hills Northwest13791040 USA-AZ459 

Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks successfully climbed after unsuccessful attempt   = Unclimbed peaks  (Note: Unsuccessful attempts on previously climbed peaks are not shown)

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

Copyright © 1987-2023 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service