Snapshot Year/Month Grid-Highest Point Reached

Peter Stone's Ascents by Year/Month

Links for other Snapshot Grids:Use Metric Color Ranges
  Highest Peak Climbed    Most Prominent Peak Climbed    Most Isolated Peak Climbed    Most Vertical Gain Hiked    Highest Climber-Defined Quality    Top Ascents in all Categories  


1973   Δ Sugar Loaf        
1977      Δ Ben LawersΔ Moel Hebog    
1978       Δ Snowdon    
1979       Δ Castle Rock Edinburgh    
1980       Δ Glacier Point    
1982       Δ Uluru    
1983      Δ Bleaklow Head     
1984         Δ Kenya-Point Lenana Δ Scafell Pike
1985  Δ Scafell   Δ Buet Δ Pen y Fan   
1986     Δ El Tallón   Δ Kinder Scout Δ Montmartre
1987 Δ BlencathraΔ Helvellyn    Δ Bowfell    
1988        Δ Acropolis   
1989   Δ Whernside  Δ Worcestershire BeaconΔ (K2)Δ Lindisfarne HPΔ Windy Gyle  
1990 Δ Cairn Gorm    Δ Lindisfarne HPΔ Blanc-X  Δ Rhos DirionΔ Brown Clee Hill
1991Δ Pen y FanΔ Sgurr nan CeathreamhnanΔ Whitehorse HillΔ Fan BrycheiniogΔ Mulhacén Δ Ben NevisΔ Sveinstindur Δ Haddington Hill  
1992Δ Walbury HillΔ Cleeve CommonΔ Ebrington Hill  Δ May HillΔ Moel Siabod  Δ Washington Δ Moel Famau
1993 Δ Auburn  Δ Peters HillΔ KatahdinΔ CadillacΔ Fuya Fuya-E Pk Δ Mansfield  
1994    Δ Marcy  Δ ElbertΔ Guadalupe Δ Kala PattarΔ Victoria
1995Δ Kosciuszko Δ WilsonΔ Carrauntoohil   Δ Cadair BerwynΔ Milk HillΔ Oliver Hill  
1996  Δ Billinge Hill Δ Leith Hill  Δ Ben More    
1997    Δ Moel Siabod-X    Δ Mitchell  
1998    Δ Brown Willy Δ Bardon HillΔ Betsom's Hill   Δ Teide
1999     Δ Roseberry Topping      
2000  Δ Scafell Pike        Δ Beacon Hill
2001    Δ Sgurr Alasdair       
2002 Δ Great OrmeΔ Croagh PatrickΔ Fairfield  Δ Bishop Wilton WoldΔ Ros Hill    
2003   Δ Mynydd Enlli   Δ Craig y LlynΔ Black Hill   
2004Δ Worcestershire Beacon  Δ Slieve Donard Δ Snowdon   Δ Yr Eifl  
2005Δ Bredon Hill  Δ Blakey Topping Δ Y Garn Δ Scafell Pike Δ Carn Fadryn  
2006   Δ Guadalupe  Δ SnowdonΔ Ros HillΔ CheviotΔ Gisborough Moor Δ Seamer Beacon
2007Δ Black HambletonΔ Cringle Moor Δ High WillhaysΔ Ben NevisΔ Jebel ToubkalΔ Roseberry ToppingΔ SnowdonΔ StiperstonesΔ Scafell Pike  
2008 Δ Blencathra Δ VentouxΔ Skiddaw  Δ Vesuvius-XΔ Helvellyn  Δ Hawnby Hill
2009  Δ Cross FellΔ GuadalupeΔ Sgurr AlasdairΔ Dale HeadΔ Mickle FellΔ Whernside   Δ Urra Moor-Round Hill
2010Δ HooveΔ Kilimanjaro Δ Grasmoor Δ Crag HillΔ Shining TorΔ ElbertΔ Moel y GamelinΔ Red ScreesΔ Tosson HillΔ Haddington Hill
2011Δ Wild Boar FellΔ Rogan's SeatΔ SnaefellΔ Slieve DonardΔ Great Shunner FellΔ Great WhernsideΔ BlancΔ Le Grand VeymontΔ MézencΔ Walbury Hill Δ Pen-y-ghent
2012Δ SkiddawΔ Aran FawddwyΔ Botley HillΔ Broad LawΔ Bleaklow HeadΔ Ben Macdui Δ Kings Δ Boulsworth Hill-Lad LawΔ Ward's StoneΔ Thornthwaite Crag
2013Δ White HillΔ An TeallachΔ Dunkery BeaconΔ Foel CwmcerwynΔ Shillhope LawΔ Ben MoreΔ RogersΔ WhitneyΔ CheviotΔ High StileΔ BranstreeΔ Penycloddiau
2014Δ Way Stone EdgeΔ Strawberry HillΔ HelvellynΔ SaddleΔ AskivalΔ Hanging HillΔ ElbrusΔ ChamechaudeΔ WhernsideΔ KnottΔ BowfellΔ High Seat
2015Δ Chapelfell TopΔ UllscarfΔ HelvellynΔ PillarΔ High StreetΔ Ben HopeΔ Fuji-sanΔ Asahi-dakeΔ LiathachΔ Meldon HillΔ Little FellΔ Yearsley Cross
2016Δ Great Stony HillΔ Burnhope SeatΔ BlancΔ Wild Boar FellΔ Grisedale PikeΔ Ben NevisΔ Pre-melting Kebnekaise-SydtoppenΔ Puy de SancyΔ Little StandΔ ScafellΔ Dale HeadΔ Little Fell
2017Δ White Hill Δ Great WhernsideΔ Blackhope ScarΔ Beinn A' GhloΔ Glas MaolΔ Horse Head MoorΔ RosaΔ Durham CastleΔ OrizabaΔ Urra Moor-Round HillΔ Rievaulx Moor
2018Δ Windlestraw Law  Δ CheahaΔ Cross FellΔ Ben VorlichΔ Birk NabΔ Kinabalu-XΔ FairfieldΔ Harter FellΔ de LachensΔ Cauldcleuch Head
2019Δ Sheriff HillΔ Beinn Eighe-Spidean Coire nan ClachΔ Buckden PikeΔ HelvellynΔ Bishop Wilton WoldΔ Glastonbury TorΔ High SeatΔ TriglavΔ Yearsley CrossΔ CotopaxiΔ Chimborazo-XΔ Noon Hill
2020Δ Danby BeaconΔ Uldale HeadΔ BranstreeΔ Black HambletonΔ Grayrigg ForestΔ RaiseΔ Crêt de la NeigeΔ Le BréventΔ Newton TorsΔ Kirkby MoorΔ Urra Moor-Round HillΔ Warden Law
2021Δ Urra Moor-Round HillΔ Yearsley CrossΔ Urra Moor-Round HillΔ UllscarfΔ Great EndΔ Sleddale ForestΔ Scoat FellΔ SchiehallionΔ Easterside HillΔ SnežkaΔ Urra Moor-Round HillΔ Ingleborough
2022Δ KeenΔ Sugar LoafΔ Almscliff CragΔ BlackΔ Dale Head       


Legend for Color Coding

20,000 feet or more
14,000 to 19,999 feet
10,000 to 13,999 feet
5,000 to 9,999 feet
2,000 to 4,999 feet
Below 2,000 ft

About the Snapshot Year-Month Grid

General Considerations:

  • "-X" after a peak name means an unsuccessful ascent, for example "Rainier-X".
  • A parenthetical name is a non-summit goal hike, for example, "(Snow Lake Hike)" or "(Rainier)".
  • The Δ triangle symbol is a hyperlink to the detailed Ascent Page for that ascent. The peak name is a link to the Peak Page for that peak.
  • The color of the cell shows how high, prominent, isolated, or high-quality the peak/ascent is, and the color ranges are shown in the legend to the left.
  • If the color is based on altitude, prominence, or vertical gain, you can switch between meters-based ranges or feet-based ranges. These are set up to be generally equivalent.

This grid comes in seven "flavors", each one showing a different "top" peak for a month. The flavors or categories are:

  1. Highest Point Reached. Can be an unsucessful attempt or non-summit goal hike.
  2. Highest Peak Climbed. Sometimes not the same as highest point, if that point was an unsuccessful ascent or a non-summit goal hike.
  3. Most Prominent Peak climbed. Note that many peaks in the database do not yet have a prominence value.
  4. Most Isolated Peak climbed. Isolation values may not be 100% accurate, since most are cacluated to nearest higher peak in the database.
  5. Peak with most vertical gain hiked. Note that many climbers do not enter vertical gain information on their ascents. Also, if several summits are grouped in a "trip", then the total gain for all ascents in that trip is assigned to the trip high point.
  6. Peak with the highest "Quality" value--this is a subjective number from 1-10 given by the climber. Note that many climbers have not given any of their ascents quality numbers.
  7. Finally, "Top Ascents in All Categories", which shows, for each month, the unique peaks from all the 6 other categories. In many cases, one or two peaks will be the leader in the 6 categories, since often the highest peak climbed for a month is also the highest point reached, the most prominent peak, and the one with the most gain. But in some cases several peaks may appear for a month.

Copyright © 1987-2022 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service