Snapshot Year/Month Grid-Highest Point Reached

Frederick Johnson's Ascents by Year/Month

Links for other Snapshot Grids:Use Metric Color Ranges
  Highest Peak Climbed    Most Prominent Peak Climbed    Most Isolated Peak Climbed    Most Vertical Gain Hiked    Highest Climber-Defined Quality    Top Ascents in all Categories  


1938      Δ South Mount Hawkins     
1941     Δ San Antonio      
1942Δ San AntonioΔ San AntonioΔ Los PinetosΔ Pleasant View Ridge Δ WaucobaΔ KaweahΔ SawtoothΔ San GorgonioΔ White Mountain Δ Nordhoff
1943Δ San AntonioΔ Reyes  Δ San BernardinoΔ San Antonio Δ WhitneyΔ Thor   
1944Δ Santa PaulaΔ San AntonioΔ Chief Δ Nordhoff       
1945      Δ Whitney Δ Russell   
1946Δ WatermanΔ San AntonioΔ WatermanΔ MaturangoΔ New York ButteΔ TelescopeΔ TelegraphΔ San GorgonioΔ Pikes   
1947      Δ MalloryΔ Williamson    
1948     Δ ElbertΔ Middle PalisadeΔ Shasta   Δ White
1949     Δ FreelΔ North Palisade-XΔ RosaΔ Blanc   
1950     Δ PikesΔ GayleyΔ Rainier    
1951     Δ MoosilaukeΔ KatahdinΔ LafayetteΔ Washington   
1952     Δ Ben NevisΔ MontmartreΔ AlphubelΔ Weisshorn-X   
1953        Δ Gibbs   
1956       Δ Symmetry SpireΔ Cloudveil Dome   
1957     Δ ConnessΔ Thompson     
1958      Δ MontgomeryΔ Morgan    
1959       Δ Humphreys    
1960      Δ Bierstadt     
1961       Δ WheelerΔ Bear Creek Spire   
1962      Δ Lincoln Δ Marcy   
1963   Δ Slide Δ Junipero Serra      
1964 Δ Lincoln    Δ Lyell Δ Washeshu   
1965  Δ Tamalpais - East  Δ Patterson Δ North Palisade-XΔ Matterhorn   
1966     Δ Red SlateΔ Dom  Δ Abbot  
1967   Δ Mitchell Δ ExcelsiorΔ Twin PeaksΔ North Palisade    
1968       Δ QuandaryΔ Sherman   
1969      Δ RalstonΔ Genevra    
1970      Δ Warren     
1971     Δ Hoffmann      
1972      Δ Price     
1975Δ Castle   Δ Judah       
1978    Δ Snowdon       
1980     Δ Saint Helena    Δ San Antonio 
1982   Δ Las TrampasΔ Hood  Δ Lassen Δ Leavitt  
1983    Δ DiabloΔ BaldΔ AnetoΔ Ararat  Δ Vollmer 
1984Δ Tamalpais - EastΔ Iztaccíhuatl  Δ DiabloΔ DiabloΔ WhitneyΔ ShastaΔ Pik Cheget   
1985Δ EagleΔ DiabloΔ Rocky RidgeΔ Caroline LivermoreΔ Botella AzulΔ Pan Toll RidgeΔ TomΔ Grand TetonΔ Kenya - Point Lenana Δ Rabbit 
1986Δ DiabloΔ Kilimanjaro-XΔ DiabloΔ RoseΔ Buck Point Δ StanislausΔ Wallace Δ Picacho del DiabloΔ Tamalpais - East 
1987Δ Popocatépetl-XΔ MayanΔ PyramidΔ San RafaelΔ EagleΔ San JoaquinΔ DiabloΔ BrewerΔ Dubois Δ Allison 
1988Δ CuyapaipeΔ Popocatépetl-XΔ DiabloΔ WinstonΔ Samon Δ WheelerΔ MorganΔ DiabloΔ DisasterΔ Tamalpais - EastΔ Diablo
1989 Δ PineΔ BareΔ DiabloΔ Boardman NorthΔ Olancha Δ Clarence King-XΔ AdamsΔ Cannell PointΔ Tamalpais - EastΔ Tamalpais - East
1990Δ Diablo Δ TecuyaΔ OlympiaΔ Tamalpais - EastΔ Clouds RestΔ Seven GablesΔ RoyceΔ VogelsangΔ CathedralΔ NorthΔ Tamalpais - East
1991Δ DiabloΔ DoubleΔ DiabloΔ EagleΔ ThomasΔ SirrettaΔ LamarckΔ UniversityΔ Borel HillΔ Three SistersΔ FrazierΔ Tamalpais - East
1992Δ CopernicusΔ QuailΔ DiabloΔ RoseΔ TrailΔ CurrantΔ MoriahΔ AltaΔ TowerΔ San BenitoΔ Snow 
1993Δ Hot SpringsΔ Saint HelenaΔ StakesΔ CachumaΔ KellerΔ HoodΔ South Yolla BollyΔ Parsons Δ IngallsΔ North Yolla BollyΔ Mission
1994Δ CobbΔ Ken PointΔ DiabloΔ Weldon Ridge HPΔ SolomonΔ GraniteΔ DesatoyaΔ EagleΔ FreelΔ Nipple  
1995Δ DiabloΔ PintoΔ DiabloΔ LookoutΔ BarnabeΔ Middle SisterΔ BasinΔ WarrenΔ South SisterΔ East SisterΔ Red Lake 
1996Δ Eagle           
1997    Δ Duane BlissΔ Wade BenchmarkΔ RubiconΔ PhippsΔ SnowΔ Lookout  
1998     Δ Ingalls Δ Granite ChiefΔ Red   
1999Δ Tamalpais - EastΔ VailΔ Caroline LivermoreΔ Coyote RidgeΔ EagleΔ JordanΔ PotatoΔ SilverΔ DixieΔ RaymondΔ Castle Rocks 
2000  Δ RingΔ Eagle Δ ShermanΔ ThompsonΔ McConnell-XΔ ProspectΔ Genoa  
2001   Δ North ChaloneΔ Gobblers KnobΔ PotatoΔ ReynoldsΔ Bull RunΔ New York ButteΔ Diamond  
2002    Δ HullΔ Bunker HillΔ Argentine Rock LookoutΔ EurekaΔ GoosenestΔ TomΔ Spruce Knob 
2003    Δ Long RidgeΔ CheahaΔ Buck Rock LookoutΔ ButtΔ BaldΔ Steens  
2004  Δ Fiske BenchmarkΔ BaldΔ MusickΔ SpanishΔ TomheadΔ KaiserΔ TuolumneΔ AbajoΔ BannerΔ Wolf
2005   Δ BlackΔ GoatΔ Angora RidgeΔ PinecrestΔ KeddieΔ SanhedrinΔ Bonanza King LookoutΔ Cahto 
2006Δ WildcatΔ Taylor RidgeΔ MissionΔ Chews RidgeΔ IronΔ Brasstown BaldΔ LikelyΔ Bald EagleΔ WonogaΔ WhalebackΔ VollmerΔ Allen
2007Δ Tamalpais - East Δ SpikesΔ BlackΔ RushingΔ BaldΔ CraneΔ AshlandΔ Slate-XΔ Tamalpais - WestΔ Observation 
2008 Δ Vollmer Δ Santa YnezΔ Valley View Δ MitchellΔ Orleans Δ Baldy  
2009   Δ Long PointΔ American Camp LookoutΔ VollmerΔ MansfieldΔ Ash Creek ButteΔ Cottonwood  Δ Pilot Knob
2010  Δ Davidson Δ Copernicus Δ Quartz HillΔ Duzel RockΔ Chase   
2011    Δ PinyonΔ Shadequarter Lookout   Δ Yainax Butte Δ Albany Hill
2012   Δ Yerba Buena Island HPΔ LarsenΔ Hoover Ridge HPΔ Smith     
2013    Δ Bielawski  Δ Tank HillΔ Merced Heights   
2014Δ Sunset Heights   Δ Hawk HillΔ VollmerΔ SutroΔ LewisΔ VollmerΔ Sugarloaf HillΔ Peak 1038 
2015Δ VollmerΔ Tamalpais - MiddleΔ Donlan PointΔ BlackΔ Saint JohnΔ Vista Point      


Legend for Color Coding

20,000 feet or more
14,000 to 19,999 feet
10,000 to 13,999 feet
5,000 to 9,999 feet
2,000 to 4,999 feet
Below 2,000 ft

About the Snapshot Year-Month Grid

General Considerations:

  • "-X" after a peak name means an unsuccessful ascent, for example "Rainier-X".
  • A parenthetical name is a non-summit goal hike, for example, "(Snow Lake Hike)" or "(Rainier)".
  • The Δ triangle symbol is a hyperlink to the detailed Ascent Page for that ascent. The peak name is a link to the Peak Page for that peak.
  • The color of the cell shows how high, prominent, isolated, or high-quality the peak/ascent is, and the color ranges are shown in the legend to the left.
  • If the color is based on altitude, prominence, or vertical gain, you can switch between meters-based ranges or feet-based ranges. These are set up to be generally equivalent.

This grid comes in seven "flavors", each one showing a different "top" peak for a month. The flavors or categories are:

  1. Highest Point Reached. Can be an unsucessful attempt or non-summit goal hike.
  2. Highest Peak Climbed. Sometimes not the same as highest point, if that point was an unsuccessful ascent or a non-summit goal hike.
  3. Most Prominent Peak climbed. Note that many peaks in the database do not yet have a prominence value.
  4. Most Isolated Peak climbed. Isolation values may not be 100% accurate, since most are cacluated to nearest higher peak in the database.
  5. Peak with most vertical gain hiked. Note that many climbers do not enter vertical gain information on their ascents. Also, if several summits are grouped in a "trip", then the total gain for all ascents in that trip is assigned to the trip high point.
  6. Peak with the highest "Quality" value--this is a subjective number from 1-10 given by the climber. Note that many climbers have not given any of their ascents quality numbers.
  7. Finally, "Top Ascents in All Categories", which shows, for each month, the unique peaks from all the 6 other categories. In many cases, one or two peaks will be the leader in the 6 categories, since often the highest peak climbed for a month is also the highest point reached, the most prominent peak, and the one with the most gain. But in some cases several peaks may appear for a month.

Copyright © 1987-2023 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service