Snapshot Year/Month Grid-Highest Point Reached

David Levey's Ascents by Year/Month

Links for other Snapshot Grids:Use Feet/Miles Color Ranges
  Highest Peak Climbed    Most Prominent Peak Climbed    Most Isolated Peak Climbed    Most Vertical Gain Hiked    Highest Climber-Defined Quality    Top Ascents in all Categories  


1964  Δ Pen-y-ghent         
1965  Δ High Stile         
1968       Δ Moel Siabod    
1969       Δ Scafell Pike    
1971   Δ Harter Fell        
1972  Δ Helvellyn       Δ Scafell 
1973  Δ Snowdon       Δ BlencathraΔ Whiteside West Top
1974  Δ Moel Hebog        Δ Bowfell
1975  Δ Broad CragΔ Pen y Fan    Δ Beinn GhlasΔ Ill CragΔ Sand HillΔ Allen Crags
1976 Δ Y Garn   Δ Beinn Alligin-Tom na GruagaichΔ WhernsideΔ Cadair Idris-Penygadair  Δ Pillar 
1977     Δ Ben Nevis      
1978  Δ Aonach Eagach-Sgor nam Fiannaidh Δ Meall nan Tarmachan    Δ Arenig FawrΔ Aran FawddwyΔ Ben Lomond
1979 Δ SkiddawΔ Meall GarbhΔ Cairn Gorm Δ Sgurr nan Conbhairean   Δ Buachaille Etive Beag-Stob DubhΔ Helvellyn-Lower Man 
1980Δ PlynlimonΔ Waun RyddΔ Stob Binnein   Δ Fan Brycheiniog  Δ Nethermost PikeΔ Scoat FellΔ Great Whernside
1981Δ Waun FachΔ RaiseΔ Ben More     Δ Sgurr a'Mhaim Δ Grasmoor 
1982  Δ Pike of BliscoΔ Burnhope Seat      Δ TryfanΔ Cross Fell
1983Δ Crinkle Crags-Long TopΔ TintoΔ Esk PikeΔ Carnedd Dafydd  Δ LochnagarΔ Carnedd LlewelynΔ High RaiseΔ Black FellΔ Y LlethrΔ Moel Eilio
1984Δ Yr Aran   Δ Marcy Δ Uncompahgre     
1985 Δ Tarn Crag  Δ Nine Standards RiggΔ Sheffield Pike  Δ Lonscale FellΔ Randygill TopΔ Creigiau Gleision 
1986  Δ Meldon Hill  Δ Plover Hill  Δ Gategill Fell Top   
1987 Δ Snaefell    Δ Cheviot  Δ DrumaldraceΔ Great Carrs 
1988    Δ Ben Lawers   Δ Rhobell Fawr Δ Stony Cove Pike 
1989 Δ Pen y Garn  Δ Ben More     Δ White Side 
1990          Δ Moelwyn Mawr 
1991    Δ Carnedd y FiliastΔ Meall Corranaich      
1992    Δ Goat Fell       
1993      Δ Bidean Nam Bian   Δ Caw Fell 
1994   Δ Esgeiriau Gwynion Δ Carn a'Chlamain    Δ Mickle Fell 
1995   Δ Beinn an OirΔ Mullach Clach a'Bhlair    Δ Allt-fawrΔ White Coomb 
1996Δ Craig Cwm Silyn  Δ Great Shunner FellΔ An Teallach Δ GlasgwmΔ Ben ChonzieΔ Tarren y GesailΔ Y GarnΔ Manod Mawr 
1997    Δ Clisham     Δ Broad Law 
1998    Δ AskivalΔ Worcestershire Beacon    Δ Culter Fell 
1999Δ Innerdownie   Δ Ben More Assynt     Δ Merrick 
2000     Δ Ben Vorlich      
2002    Δ Spidean Coinich-Quinag Δ Buachaille Etive Mor  Δ Auchnafree Hill  
2003    Δ Ben LoyalΔ Ben Lui   Δ Beinn ChabhairΔ Beinn Dorain 
2004 Δ Carn Mairg Δ Stuchd an LochainΔ Caisteal AbhailΔ Beinn a'ChaorainnΔ Beinn a'Bhuird Δ Beinn MhanachΔ Chno DeargΔ Meall Ghaordaidh 
2005 Δ Beinn UdlaidhΔ Beinn BhuidheΔ Carn EigeΔ Meall ChuaichΔ Ben Starav  Δ Beinn a'ChlachairΔ A'ChralaigΔ An Stuc 
2006 Δ Beinn Fhionnlaidh Δ Ben Macdui Δ Beinn Heasgarnich   Δ Bynack MoreΔ Buachaille Etive Beag-Stob Coire Raineach 
2007 Δ Haddington HillΔ Carn Liath Δ Sgurr nan Clach Geala  Δ Gleouraich Δ Ben CruachanΔ Moruisg 
2008  Δ Beinn EachΔ Maoile LunndaidhΔ Bardon HillΔ Am FaochagachΔ Sron a'Choire GhairbhΔ Leith Hill Δ Beinn Sgritheall Δ Sgurr a'Mhaoraich
2009   Δ Tom a'Choinich Δ Mullach Coire Mhic FhearchairΔ Butser Hill  Δ Am Bathach  
2010Δ WrekinΔ Meall an t-SeallaidhΔ Green SideΔ Sgurr a'Choire GhlaisΔ Lurg MhorΔ Windlestraw Law Δ Stob Coire Easain Δ Ben Attow  
2011Δ Wandope  Δ Base BrownΔ Mynydd Drws-y-coedΔ Gray CragΔ Sgurr nan Ceathreamhnan Δ Mullach Fraoch-choire Δ Little Hart Crag 
2012Δ Blake Fell  Δ Beinn BhrotainΔ Sgurr na Ciche Δ Sgurr MorΔ Cairn ToulΔ Fountains Fell South Top  Δ Steel Fell
2013Δ MellbreakΔ Great Mell Fell    Δ Beinn na Lap   Δ Stiperstones 
2014Δ Watsons DoddΔ Blea RiggΔ Arthur's PikeΔ High House Tarn TopΔ Chanctonbury RingΔ Gibson KnottΔ Beinn ResipolΔ High ToveΔ Brae FellΔ ZeusΔ Maiden Moor 
2015Δ Gowbarrow Fell-Wainwright SummitΔ Beinn DhorainΔ Slight SideΔ Dun da GhaoitheΔ Mungrisdale CommonΔ BakestallΔ Loft CragΔ Shipman KnottsΔ Allt y MainΔ Cold Pike Δ East Burnham Park
2016Δ Top o'SelsideΔ Cold Overton ParkΔ Gummer's HowΔ Shining Tor Δ GairbeinnΔ Moel FamauΔ Ben VaneΔ Baugh Fell-Tarn Rigg HillΔ Little StandΔ White HillΔ West Lomond
2017Δ Ward's StoneΔ Black CombeΔ Moel GywΔ Mynydd TroedΔ Sgor GaibhreΔ Dunkery BeaconΔ Corndon HillΔ Rhiw GwraiddΔ Pendle HillΔ HartavalΔ CoetyΔ Rombald's Moor
2018Δ Hutton Roof CragsΔ Dead StonesΔ HooveΔ Grayrigg ForestΔ CulardochΔ St Boniface Down Δ Cairnsmore of CarsphairnΔ Ettrick PenΔ FaraΔ Mynydd Twyn-glas 
2019 Δ Mynydd NodolΔ Cauldcleuch Head Δ Braigh Coire Chruinn-bhalgain  Δ King's Seat Hill    
2020Δ Urra Moor-Round HillΔ WhitfellΔ Gathersnow HillΔ Beinn A' Ghlo        


Legend for Color Coding

6,000 meters or more
4,000 to 5,999 meters
3,000 to 3,999 meters
1,500 to 2,999 meters
600 to 1,499 meters
Below 600 meters

About the Snapshot Year-Month Grid

General Considerations:

  • "-X" after a peak name means an unsuccessful ascent, for example "Rainier-X".
  • A parenthetical name is a non-summit goal hike, for example, "(Snow Lake Hike)" or "(Rainier)".
  • The Δ triangle symbol is a hyperlink to the detailed Ascent Page for that ascent. The peak name is a link to the Peak Page for that peak.
  • The color of the cell shows how high, prominent, isolated, or high-quality the peak/ascent is, and the color ranges are shown in the legend to the left.
  • If the color is based on altitude, prominence, or vertical gain, you can switch between meters-based ranges or feet-based ranges. These are set up to be generally equivalent.

This grid comes in seven "flavors", each one showing a different "top" peak for a month. The flavors or categories are:

  1. Highest Point Reached. Can be an unsucessful attempt or non-summit goal hike.
  2. Highest Peak Climbed. Sometimes not the same as highest point, if that point was an unsuccessful ascent or a non-summit goal hike.
  3. Most Prominent Peak climbed. Note that many peaks in the database do not yet have a prominence value.
  4. Most Isolated Peak climbed. Isolation values may not be 100% accurate, since most are cacluated to nearest higher peak in the database.
  5. Peak with most vertical gain hiked. Note that many climbers do not enter vertical gain information on their ascents. Also, if several summits are grouped in a "trip", then the total gain for all ascents in that trip is assigned to the trip high point.
  6. Peak with the highest "Quality" value--this is a subjective number from 1-10 given by the climber. Note that many climbers have not given any of their ascents quality numbers.
  7. Finally, "Top Ascents in All Categories", which shows, for each month, the unique peaks from all the 6 other categories. In many cases, one or two peaks will be the leader in the 6 categories, since often the highest peak climbed for a month is also the highest point reached, the most prominent peak, and the one with the most gain. But in some cases several peaks may appear for a month.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service