Snapshot Year/Month Grid-Highest Point Reached

Wolfgang Schrittwieser's Ascents by Year/Month

Links for other Snapshot Grids:Use Feet/Miles Color Ranges
  Highest Peak Climbed    Most Prominent Peak Climbed    Most Isolated Peak Climbed    Most Vertical Gain Hiked    Highest Climber-Defined Quality    Top Ascents in all Categories  


1996    Δ Großer GriessteinΔ (Brandstein)Δ Hochwildstelle-XΔ HochgollingΔ HochschwabΔ HochschwabΔ Großer KnallsteinΔ Hochveitsch
1997Δ HochschwabΔ HochturmΔ HochveitschΔ GreimΔ HochschwabΔ HochwildstelleΔ WatzmannΔ GrimmingΔ ScheichenspitzeΔ HochschwabΔ HochveitschΔ Zagelkogel
1998Δ HochschwabΔ PreberΔ TroiseckΔ Hochveitsch-XΔ HochschwabΔ Lugauer Δ HochalmspitzeΔ Große OchsenwandΔ Fanis-XΔ KarlhochkogelΔ Hochveitsch
1999Δ Seckauer ZinkenΔ TroiseckΔ TamischbachturmΔ Großer GriessteinΔ Grosser BösensteinΔ HochkogelΔ HochkönigΔ WildspitzeΔ Grosser BuchsteinΔ Hoher DachsteinΔ HochveitschΔ (Hochschwab)
2000Δ Großer RingkogelΔ HochveitschΔ (Hochschwab)Δ GroßvenedigerΔ Hochschwab Δ RosennockΔ OrtlesΔ Groß WiesbachhornΔ Geierhaupt  
2001    Δ GrimmingΔ HochschwabΔ GroßglocknerΔ Grosser HafnerΔ TAC-SpitzeΔ Civetta-X Δ Hochveitsch
2002Δ PletzenΔ GsuchmauerΔ Großer GriessteinΔ Großglockner Δ GamskogelΔ Gran ParadisoΔ Hochkönig Δ HochveitschΔ Hochgolling-XΔ Hochtor-X
2003Δ HochveitschΔ Hoher Dachstein-XΔ PreberΔ Östliche SimonyspitzeΔ HochveitschΔ Großglockner-XΔ HochschwabΔ GroßglocknerΔ HochschwabΔ HochveitschΔ HochschwabΔ Hochveitsch
2004Δ HochveitschΔ Hoher Dachstein-XΔ HochreichartΔ Piz BuinΔ HocharnΔ HochveitschΔ Tre Cime di LavaredoΔ HochveitschΔ CevedaleΔ HochschwabΔ HochveitschΔ Großer Knallstein
2005Δ HochveitschΔ HochveitschΔ HochveitschΔ HochkönigΔ HochveitschΔ ZirbitzkogelΔ StrudelkopfΔ Hochgall-XΔ HochveitschΔ HochfeilerΔ ZagelkogelΔ Hochveitsch
2006Δ ScheiblingsteinΔ HochwartΔ HochveitschΔ Similaun-XΔ ZagelkogelΔ (Alpentour Steiermark Süd 2)Δ ZuckerhütlΔ (Dreiländertour 2)Δ RingkampΔ HochveitschΔ HochveitschΔ Hochveitsch
2007Δ HochveitschΔ HochwartΔ Grosser BösensteinΔ HocharnΔ Großer SpeikkogelΔ ZagelkogelΔ PolinikΔ (Dolomitentour 2)Δ HochschwabΔ HochschwabΔ HochveitschΔ Hochhaide
2008Δ HimmeleckΔ PreberΔ SonntagskogelΔ GroßvenedigerΔ HochalmspitzeΔ HochveitschΔ ZirbitzkogelΔ TelegraphΔ HochveitschΔ RiegerinΔ RettlkirchspitzeΔ Seckauer Zinken
2009Δ DeneckΔ LahneckΔ EisenhutΔ Wildes HinterberglΔ HochweberspitzeΔ Hochschwab Δ HochreichartΔ PetzeckΔ Grosser PyhrgasΔ GrieskogelΔ Griesmoarkogel
2010Δ ZirbitzkogelΔ LahneckΔ ZirbitzkogelΔ SchrankogelΔ ElbrusΔ Eisenerzer ReichensteinΔ Piz BerninaΔ GrintovecΔ HochschwabΔ WildfeldΔ HochveitschΔ Bruderkogel
2011Δ GeierhauptΔ PreberΔ WildspitzeΔ HocharnΔ ZagelkogelΔ BlancΔ Steirische KalkspitzeΔ StadelsteinΔ OrtlesΔ HochschwabΔ GeierhauptΔ Zagelkogel
2012Δ KilimanjaroΔ GriesmoarkogelΔ GeierhauptΔ GroßglocknerΔ ZeiritzkampelΔ ZagelkogelΔ FuchskogelΔ Lizumer RecknerΔ GreifenbergΔ MaierangerkogelΔ ZirbitzkogelΔ Seitnerzinken
2013Δ GeierhauptΔ ZirbitzkogelΔ (Cima Dieci)Δ HocharnΔ Cadria-XΔ ReinischkogelΔ WaldhornΔ MarmoladaΔ Cima d'AstaΔ Seckauer ZinkenΔ EbensteinΔ Kerschkern
2014Δ ZirbitzkogelΔ LugauerΔ EisenhutΔ AhrnerkopfΔ GrebenzenΔ Großer SpeikkogelΔ ParseierspitzeΔ SchoberspitzeΔ ChabertonΔ HochschwabΔ BrandstätterkogelΔ Leobner
2015Δ LahnerleitenspitzeΔ HochwartΔ Großer GrießsteinΔ Kleiner BösensteinΔ RossbachkogelΔ KleinobirΔ ZugspitzeΔ MittagskogelΔ Cima PresanellaΔ AmeringkogelΔ KordeschkogelΔ Latschur
2016Δ LahnerleitenspitzeΔ KerschkernΔ ZirbitzkogelΔ Mittlere MalhamspitzeΔ Col NudoΔ Ladinger SpitzΔ Wöllaner NockΔ Hoher RifflerΔ ReisskofelΔ RoteckΔ RupprechtseckΔ Hochschwab
2017Δ LugauerΔ HochmölbingΔ ZagelkogelΔ BärenkogelΔ MoschkogelΔ Cima CaregaΔ ZirbitzkogelΔ ŠkrlaticaΔ Grosser RettensteinΔ Großer SpeikkogelΔ Würflinghöhe 2210Δ Triebenkogel
2018Δ PletzenΔ ZirbitzkogelΔ Großer GrießsteinΔ GeierhauptΔ KreiskogelΔ Großer SpeikkogelΔ Dents du MidiΔ HochlantschΔ TamaiΔ GeierhauptΔ Hohe LinsΔ Gsuchmauer
2019Δ (Zwölferköpfl)Δ GamskogelΔ GeierhauptΔ ReinischkogelΔ ReinischkogelΔ ZirbitzkogelΔ Cime de la BonetteΔ Schöckl    


Legend for Color Coding

6,000 meters or more
4,000 to 5,999 meters
3,000 to 3,999 meters
1,500 to 2,999 meters
600 to 1,499 meters
Below 600 meters

About the Snapshot Year-Month Grid

General Considerations:

  • "-X" after a peak name means an unsuccessful ascent, for example "Rainier-X".
  • A parenthetical name is a non-summit goal hike, for example, "(Snow Lake Hike)" or "(Rainier)".
  • The Δ triangle symbol is a hyperlink to the detailed Ascent Page for that ascent. The peak name is a link to the Peak Page for that peak.
  • The color of the cell shows how high, prominent, isolated, or high-quality the peak/ascent is, and the color ranges are shown in the legend to the left.
  • If the color is based on altitude, prominence, or vertical gain, you can switch between meters-based ranges or feet-based ranges. These are set up to be generally equivalent.

This grid comes in seven "flavors", each one showing a different "top" peak for a month. The flavors or categories are:

  1. Highest Point Reached. Can be an unsucessful attempt or non-summit goal hike.
  2. Highest Peak Climbed. Sometimes not the same as highest point, if that point was an unsuccessful ascent or a non-summit goal hike.
  3. Most Prominent Peak climbed. Note that many peaks in the database do not yet have a prominence value.
  4. Most Isolated Peak climbed. Isolation values may not be 100% accurate, since most are cacluated to nearest higher peak in the database.
  5. Peak with most vertical gain hiked. Note that many climbers do not enter vertical gain information on their ascents. Also, if several summits are grouped in a "trip", then the total gain for all ascents in that trip is assigned to the trip high point.
  6. Peak with the highest "Quality" value--this is a subjective number from 1-10 given by the climber. Note that many climbers have not given any of their ascents quality numbers.
  7. Finally, "Top Ascents in All Categories", which shows, for each month, the unique peaks from all the 6 other categories. In many cases, one or two peaks will be the leader in the 6 categories, since often the highest peak climbed for a month is also the highest point reached, the most prominent peak, and the one with the most gain. But in some cases several peaks may appear for a month.

Copyright © 1987-2019 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service