Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

Northeast "115" 4000-footers - Multiple Ascents Grid

Showing all of Bill Jacobs's ascent dates (max 10 rounds) (Overall: 4 out of 115, or 3.48%)

RankPeak Elev-Ft
TotalRound 1
1.Mount Washington628861581 1984-07-15 
6.Mount Marcy534449191 1995-06-08 
7.Katahdin526842931 1999-09-13 
45.Mount Mansfield439336431 1995-06-07 
8.Mount Lafayette52603360  
63.Killington Peak42353325  
67.Slide Mountain41903295  
61.Sugarloaf Mountain42503178  
14.Whiteface Mountain48653110  
28.Giant Mountain46262969  
20.Mount Moosilauke48022932  
77.Bigelow Mountain41452855  
16.Dix Mountain48392822  
17.Carter Dome48322821  
70.Old Speck41702720  
70.Mount Cabot41702671  
79.Saddleback Mountain41202446  
31.Santanoni Peak46062425  
49.South Kinsman Mountain43582418  
26.Mount Carrigain47002243  
94.Hunter Mountain40502160  
88.Mount Ellen40832132  
9.Algonquin Peak51152113  
52.Mount Osceola43402040  
50.Seward Mountain43472037  
84.Camels Hump40901880  
110.Mount Tecumseh40031743  
52.Mount Field43401701  
13.South Twin49021522  
68.North Tripyramid41801360  
108.Mount Waumbek40061299  
75.Street Mountain41501280  
74.North Brother41511256  
42.Mount Hancock44201240  
64.Crocker Mountain42261216  
82.Cascade Mountain40981194  
65.Big Slide Mountain42161083  
41.Wildcat Mountain44221034  
83.Seymour Mountain40911024  
97.Mount Moriah4049922  
94.Mount Abraham4050900  
25.Mount Colden4715892  
2.Mount Adams5799861  
102.Owls Head4025845  
11.Mount Haystack4961843  
36.Mount Garfield4500840  
98.Mount Passaconaway4043823  
81.Cannon Mountain4100760  
3.Mount Jefferson5712753  
18.Basin Mountain4826741  
91.Mount Colvin4052722  
29.Middle Carter Mountain4610720  
69.Lower Wolfjaw Mountain4173679  
50.Allen Mountain4347656  
90.Mount Hale4054634  
46.Rocky Peak Ridge4390633  
104.Mount Whiteface4020600  
106.Spaulding Mountain4010595  
12.Mount Skylight4925594  
112.Blake Peak3986591  
48.Macomb Mountain4370581  
47.Mount Marshall4380509  
23.Hamlin Peak4756506  
113.Cliff Mountain3944482  
99.Saddleback Mountain-The Horn4041471  
5.Mount Madison5366466  
106.Mount Redington4010460  
54.Mount Flume4328428  
43.Table Top Mountain4413427  
37.Mount Liberty4459399  
44.Hough Peak4409390  
35.Saddleback Mountain4528377  
94.South Crocker Mountain4050360  
91.Mount Jackson4052352  
93.Mount Tom4051351  
73.Mount Osceola-East Peak4156336  
22.Mount Eisenhower4760335  
101.Grace Mountain4026335  
86.Porter Mountain4085328  
27.Mount Bond4698318  
62.Esther Mountain4239302  
21.North Twin4761301  
108.Mount Abraham4006296  
39.Panther Peak4442292  
89.Wildcat D4062287  
103.Galehead Mountain4024284  
66.Upper Wolfjaw Mountain4203282  
78.Middle Tripyramid4140280  
85.Avery Peak4088278  
60.Mount Willey4255275  
57.North Kinsman Mountain4293273  
115.Couchsachraga Peak3793266  
4.Mount Monroe5372264  
33.Wright Peak4587256  
31.Mount Redfield4606243  
56.Mount Pierce4310240  
40.South Carter Mountain4430240  
59.Zealand Mountain4260240  
110.Mount Isolation4003223  
72.Phelps Mountain4160207  
34.West Bond4540200  
105.Dial Mountain4019197  
86.South Dix4085197  
10.Mount Lincoln5089189  
55.South Hancock4319179  
80.Donaldson Mountain4108154  
15.Iroquois Peak4843151  
38.Armstrong Mountain4446131  
18.Gray Peak4826118  
100.Mount Emmons4039118  
114.Nye Mountain383982  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Bill Jacobs, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

This list combines the Appalachian Mountain Club's New England 4000-footer list, the Adirondack 46er list, and the two Catskill 4000-foot summits to create what is, in theory, a master list of Northeast USA 4000-foot peaks.

But this list is really an aesthetic disaster. The AMC lists have changed over time to reflect new survey elevations, and at one point this list was called the "Northeast 111" prior to the promotion of 4 summits in ME and NH to 4000-footer status over the past couple decades. And despite the goal of the AMC to use a strict prominence cutoff, there remain at least two inconsistencies with the contour maps. However, the AMC lists are nothing like the infamous 46er list, which has not changed since the 1930s and remains stuck in a time warp, despite many changes in peak elevations. So the "Northeast 115" list is a mixture of apples and oranges.

However, this list does combine two very popular and historically significant lists into one, and it remains a well-known yardstick for serious Northeastern peakbaggers.

Using a strict, consistent, contour-map based prominence cutoff for peaks, this list of Northeast 4000-footers shows 109 peaks. 68 are in New England, matching closely the 67 on the AMC list (the AMC does not include the Mansfield Nose or Guyot, but does include South Hancock). But only 39 of the 46ers are now over 4000 feet and have 160 feet of clean prominence based on the latest maps.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Bill Jacobs   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1106509 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2019 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service