Method: Clean | Average | OptimisticShow Unranked Peaks in ListWinter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

New England 4000-foot Peaks - Multiple Ascents Grid

Ranked Peaks have 160 feet of Clean Prominence

RankPeak Elev-Ft
TotalRound 1
1.Mount Washington62886168  
2.Mount Adams5799861  
3.Mount Jefferson5712753  
4.Mount Monroe5372274  
5.Mount Madison5366466  
6.Mount Lafayette52803400  
8.Mount Lincoln5089209  
9.Mount Truman5040160  
10.South Twin49021542  
11.Carter Dome48322821  
12.Mount Moosilauke48022932  
13.North Twin4761321  
14.Mount Eisenhower4760335  
15.Hamlin Peak4756516  
16.Mount Carrigain47202263  
17.Mount Bond4698338  
18.Middle Carter Mountain4620740  
19.Mount Guyot4600240  
20.West Bond4560240  
21.Mount Blue4529169  
22.Mount Garfield4520880  
23.Mount Liberty4459419  
24.Mount Hancock44401280  
24.South Carter Mountain4440260  
26.Wildcat Mountain44221034  
27.Mount Mansfield43933653  
28.Mount Osceola43602080  
28.Mount Field43601721  
30.South Kinsman Mountain43582438  
31.Mount Flume4328448  
32.Mount Hancock-Middle Peak4320160  
33.South Hancock4319199  
34.Mount Pierce4310250  
35.North Kinsman Mountain4293293  
36.Zealand Mountain4280280  
38.Sugarloaf Mountain42603188  
39.Mount Willey4255295  
40.Mount Osceola-Middle Peak4240160  
41.Killington Peak42353335  
42.Crocker Mountain42261226  
43.North Tripyramid42001400  
44.Old Speck41802740  
44.Mount Cabot41802681  
46.Middle Tripyramid4160320  
47.Mount Osceola-East Peak4156356  
48.North Brother41511256  
49.Bigelow Mountain41452865  
50.Cannon Mountain4120800  
50.Saddleback Mountain41202446  
50.South Tripyramid4120160  
53.Camels Hump41001900  
54.Avery Peak4088288  
55.Mount Ellen40832132  
56.Wildcat D4062287  
57.South Crocker Mountain4060380  
57.Mount Abraham4060920  
59.Mount Hale4054654  
60.Mount Jackson4052372  
61.Mount Tom4051371  
62.Mount Moriah4049922  
63.Mount Passaconaway4043843  
64.Saddleback Mountain-The Horn4041481  
65.Mount Whiteface4040640  
65.Mount Mansfield-The Nose4040200  
65.Mount Hancock-Northwest Peak4040200  
68.Owls Head4025865  
69.Galehead Mountain4024304  
70.Mount Redington4020480  
70.Spaulding Mountain4020605  
72.Mount Waumbek40061309  
72.Mount Abraham4006306  
74.Mount Tecumseh40031763  
74.Mount Isolation4003243  
76.Sandwich Mountain40001240  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Aubrey Davidson, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not the same as the Official AMC New England 4000-footer List. This list is similar, but it is based on strict mathematical cutoffs derived from careful reading of the USGS topographic maps. The differences are:

  • This list adds the Nose on Mount Mansfield, which clearly has 160 feet of clean prominence (200 feet of optimistic prominence, which appears the be the AMC standard).
  • This list substitutes Mount Guyot for South Hancock. Carefully looking at the USGS map shows that Guyot has 160 feet of clean prominence, while South Hancock only has 159.

It is not clear why the official AMC lists are inconsistent in the way they interpret the USGS contours, unless they have better surverying data used as criteria for their lists.

Selected Guidebook(s) for this List

       AMC White Mountain Guide, 28th Edition (Smith, Daniell)
       AMC Maine Mountain Guide (AMC Books)

Caution: These books feature many of the peaks on this list, but may not have information on all of them.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Aubrey Davidson   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 2196280 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service