Method: Clean | Average | OptimisticHide Unranked Peaks in ListWinter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using U.S. Units (Feet)

New England 4000-foot Peaks - Multiple Ascents Grid

Ranked Peaks have 160 feet of Clean Prominence

RankPeak Elev-M
TotalRound 1
1.Mount Washington19171880  
 Ball Crag18619  
2.Mount Adams1768262  
 Agiocochook Crag17439  
3.Mount Jefferson1741229  
 Nelson Crag171811  
 Sam Adams170234  
 Mount Clay168648  
 Bigelow Lawn Hill168630  
 Boott Spur168042  
 John Quincy Adams164923  
 Monticello Lawn Peak164810  
4.Mount Monroe163783  
5.Mount Madison1636142  
 Abigail Adams163218  
 Katahdin-South Peak160924  
6.Mount Lafayette16091036  
 Adams 5160818  
 Mount Monroe-West Peak159024  
8.Mount Lincoln155164  
9.Mount Truman153649  
 Mount Franklin153624  
 Chimney Peak150030  
 Pamola Peak149936  
10.South Twin1494470  
11.Carter Dome1473860  
 Slide Peak14652  
12.Mount Moosilauke1464894  
13.North Twin145198  
14.Mount Eisenhower1451102  
 South Howe Peak145137  
15.Hamlin Peak1450157  
 North Howe Peak143910  
16.Mount Carrigain1439690  
17.Mount Bond1432103  
 Slide Peak South143016  
 Mount Hight142541  
18.Middle Carter Mountain1408226  
19.Mount Guyot140273  
 Mount Lethe139720  
20.West Bond139073  
 North Carter Mountain138424  
21.Mount Blue138052  
 Mount Moosilauke-South Summit137925  
22.Mount Garfield1378268  
 Southeast Castle13728  
23.Mount Liberty1359128  
24.Mount Hancock1353390  
24.South Carter Mountain135379  
26.Wildcat Mountain1348315  
 Northwest Plateau13449  
27.Mount Mansfield13391113  
28.Mount Osceola1329634  
28.Mount Field1329525  
30.South Kinsman Mountain1328743  
 Southwest Twin132836  
 Wildcat B132324  
 Northwest Castle13209  
31.Mount Flume1319137  
32.Mount Hancock-Middle Peak131749  
33.South Hancock131661  
 Fourth Howk131535  
34.Mount Pierce131476  
 Wildcat C131048  
 Montalban Ridge-North Peak130941  
35.North Kinsman Mountain130989  
36.Zealand Mountain130585  
 Carter Dome-South Peak130323  
38.Sugarloaf Mountain1298972  
39.Mount Willey129790  
 Greenleaf Knob129426  
40.Mount Osceola-Middle Peak129249  
41.Killington Peak12911017  
42.Crocker Mountain1288374  
43.North Tripyramid1280427  
 Mount Pierce-South Peak127620  
44.Mount Cabot1274817  
44.Old Speck1274835  
 Mount Jim127240  
46.Middle Tripyramid126898  
47.Mount Osceola-East Peak1267109  
48.North Brother1265383  
49.Bigelow Mountain1263873  
 Mount Mansfield-Adams Apple126230  
 Mount Mansfield-Lower Lip126224  
50.South Tripyramid125649  
50.Saddleback Mountain1256746  
50.Cannon Mountain1256244  
 Mount Osceola-West Peak125435  
53.Camels Hump1250579  
 Mount Cabot-Southeast Knob125018  
54.Avery Peak124688  
55.Mount Ellen1244650  
 Emerald Bluff123920  
56.Wildcat D123887  
57.Mount Abraham1237280  
57.South Crocker Mountain1237116  
59.Mount Hale1236199  
60.Mount Jackson1235113  
61.Mount Tom1235113  
62.Mount Moriah1234281  
 Wildcat E123323  
63.Mount Passaconaway1232257  
64.Saddleback Mountain-The Horn1232147  
65.Mount Hancock-Northwest Peak123161  
 Mount Hancock-East Peak123137  
65.Mount Whiteface1231195  
 Mount Whiteface-Ledges123137  
 Cutts Peak123118  
65.Mount Mansfield-The Nose123161  
68.Owls Head1227264  
69.Galehead Mountain122793  
70.Mount Redington1225146  
70.Spaulding Mountain1225184  
 Mount Waumbek-East Peak122424  
72.Mount Abraham122193  
72.Mount Waumbek1221399  
74.Mount Isolation122074  
74.Mount Tecumseh1220537  
76.Sandwich Mountain1219378  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Aubrey Davidson, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not the same as the Official AMC New England 4000-footer List. This list is similar, but it is based on strict mathematical cutoffs derived from careful reading of the USGS topographic maps. The differences are:

  • This list adds the Nose on Mount Mansfield, which clearly has 160 feet of clean prominence (200 feet of optimistic prominence, which appears the be the AMC standard).
  • This list substitutes Mount Guyot for South Hancock. Carefully looking at the USGS map shows that Guyot has 160 feet of clean prominence, while South Hancock only has 159.

It is not clear why the official AMC lists are inconsistent in the way they interpret the USGS contours, unless they have better surverying data used as criteria for their lists.

Selected Guidebook(s) for this List

       AMC White Mountain Guide, 28th Edition (Smith, Daniell)
       AMC Maine Mountain Guide (AMC Books)

Caution: These books feature many of the peaks on this list, but may not have information on all of them.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Aubrey Davidson   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 2194453 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service