Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

Tennessee County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-Ft
TotalRound 1
1.AndersonCross Mountain35342114  
2.BedfordLocust Knob West1340115  
3.BentonRound Top700137  
4.BledsoeHolloway Ridge2700280  
5.BlountThunderhead Mountain55271127  
6.BradleyWhite Oak Mountain-Ooltewah Lookout1495635  
7.CampbellCross Mountain35342114  
8.CannonShort Mountain20921012  
9.CarrollMaple Creek Lookout720220  
10.CarterRoan High Knob62853525  
11.CheathamSullivan Ridge West920300  
12.ChesterSand Mountain760280  
13.ClaiborneBryson Mountain31291509  
14.ClayPilot Knob1420500  
15.CockeOld Black6370210  
16.CoffeeCoffee County High Point204060  
17.CrockettCrockett County High Point49080  
18.CumberlandHinch Mountain30481608  
19.DavidsonDavidson County High Point1170440  
20.DecaturMount Carmel West700200  
21.DeKalbDekalb County High Point1330130  
22.DicksonDickson County High Point980200  
23.DyerDyer County High Point515195  
24.FayetteGordon Hill677117  
25.FentressFentress County High Point187030  
26.FranklinSewanee Benchmark2039119  
27.GibsonGibson County High Point57070  
28.GilesFlanigan Hill1180240  
29.GraingerClinch Mountain-Grainger County HP2540520  
30.GreeneGravel Knob4852372  
31.GrundyLockhart Lookout Tower238222  
32.HamblenCrockett Ridge1952752  
33.HamiltonLookout Mountain2146381  
34.HancockNewman Ridge2640980  
35.HardemanHickory Benchmark688108  
36.HardinHardin County High Point84040  
37.HawkinsChimneytop-Southwest Peak31181758  
38.HaywoodHaywood County High Point51020  
39.HendersonHenderson County High Point720160  
40.HenryHenry County High Point650190  
41.HickmanBon Aqua Lookout Tower1000100  
42.HoustonHouston County High Point86060  
43.HumphreysDickhum Benchmark Area88020  
44.JacksonTick Ridge1140100  
45.JeffersonEnglish Mountain36292332  
46.JohnsonSnake Mountain-North Peak551878  
47.KnoxHouse Mountain21001040  
48.LakeLake County High Point32237  
49.LauderdaleLauderdale County High Point530200  
50.LawrenceLawrence County High Point112080  
51.LewisLewis County High Point10600  
52.LincolnLincoln County High Point1520100  
53.LoudonAlexander Knob1313353  
54.McMinnStarr Mountain2360500  
55.McNairyMount Peter700160  
56.MaconMacon County High Point1120180  
57.MadisonMadison County High Point680200  
58.MarionLockhart Lookout Tower-South Summit240040  
59.MarshallTwitty Knob East1300138  
60.MauryFlanigan Hill1180240  
61.MeigsMcMinn Ridge1296416  
62.MonroeHaw Knob5472232  
63.MontgomeryMontgomery County High Point80646  
64.MooreChestnut Ridge1280100  
65.MorganBig Fodderstack33601020  
66.ObionObion County High Point551191  
67.OvertonHampton Mountain2040160  
68.PerryPerry County High Point1000100  
69.PickettGolman Mountain1786686  
70.PolkBig Frog Mountain42402560  
71.PutnamPutnam County High Point208040  
72.RheaWalden Ridge-Rhea County HP206040  
73.RoaneMount Roosevelt2036596  
74.RobertsonRobertson County High Point92040  
75.RutherfordRutherford County High Point1360160  
76.ScottBurge Mountain3280420  
77.SequatchieSequatchie County High Point2400480  
78.SevierClingmans Dome66434523  
79.ShelbyShelby County High Point43020  
80.SmithWalnut Knob1248508  
81.StewartStewart County High Point76080  
82.SullivanHolston High Point43201660  
83.SumnerSumner County High Point1085185  
84.TiptonTipton County High Point450110  
85.TrousdaleTrousdale County High Point1100380  
86.UnicoiBig Bald55162596  
87.UnionSignal Point2320600  
88.Van burenSmartt Mountain2142282  
89.WarrenWarren County High Point200080  
90.WashingtonPinnacle Mountain35601590  
91.WayneWayne County High Point1080135  
92.WeakleyWeakley County High Point61090  
93.WhiteWhite County High Point2009169  
94.WilliamsonWilliamson County High Point1256476  
95.WilsonMount Defiance Southwest1363503  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Bob Mattson, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in Tennessee, you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1995 by Carl Mills, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for points in the lowlands of the state provided by Tom Owen via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Bob Mattson   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1072283 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service