Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic All Ascent DatesCount a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

Tennessee County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-Ft  Prom-Ft TotalRound 1
1.SumnerSumner County High Point1085165  
2.ClayPilot Knob1400460  
3.PickettGolman Mountain1786666  
4.JacksonTick Ridge112060  
5.OvertonHampton Mountain2020120  
6.FentressFentress County High Point187010  
7.SmithWalnut Knob1248488  
8.PutnamPutnam County High Point20600  
9.DavidsonDavidson County High Point1160420  
10.WhiteWhite County High Point2009149  
11.CannonShort Mountain20921002  
12.DeKalbDekalb County High Point1330110  
13.Van burenSmartt Mountain2142262  
14.WarrenWarren County High Point198040  
15.GilesFlanigan Hill1160200  
16.MauryFlanigan Hill1160200  
17.CoffeeCoffee County High Point202020  
18.GrundyLockhart Lookout Tower23822  
19.FranklinSewanee Benchmark203999  
20.RoaneMount Roosevelt2036576  
21.CumberlandHinch Mountain30481588  
22.BledsoeHolloway Ridge2680240  
23.RheaWalden Ridge-Rhea County HP20400  
24.SequatchieSequatchie County High Point2380440  
25.ClaiborneBryson Mountain31291489  
26.AndersonCross Mountain35342094  
27.CampbellCross Mountain35342094  
28.ScottBurge Mountain3260380  
29.MorganBig Fodderstack3340980  
30.CarrollMaple Creek Lookout700180  
31.BentonRound Top680117  
32.LauderdaleLauderdale County High Point520180  
33.ChesterSand Mountain740240  
34.McNairyMount Peter680120  
35.FayetteGordon Hill67797  
36.HamiltonLookout Mountain2146381  
37.BradleyWhite Oak Mountain-Ooltewah Lookout1495615  
38.HawkinsChimneytop-Southwest Peak31181738  
39.HamblenCrockett Ridge1952732  
40.GraingerClinch Mountain-Grainger County HP2520480  
41.UnionSignal Point2300560  
42.KnoxHouse Mountain20801000  
43.HancockNewman Ridge2620940  
44.PolkBig Frog Mountain42002480  
45.MeigsMcMinn Ridge1296396  
46.MonroeHaw Knob5472192  
47.McMinnStarr Mountain2340460  
48.LoudonAlexander Knob1313333  
49.BlountThunderhead Mountain55271087  
50.SevierClingmans Dome66434503  
51.JeffersonEnglish Mountain36292292  
52.CockeOld Black6370170  
53.WashingtonPinnacle Mountain35201550  
54.SullivanHolston High Point42801600  
55.CarterRoan High Knob62853485  
56.UnicoiBig Bald55162556  
57.GreeneGravel Knob4852332  
58.BedfordLocust Knob West1340115  
59.CheathamSullivan Ridge West900260  
60.CrockettCrockett County High Point48060  
61.DecaturMount Carmel West700180  
62.DicksonDickson County High Point960160  
63.DyerDyer County High Point515185  
64.GibsonGibson County High Point57060  
65.HardemanHickory Benchmark68888  
66.HardinHardin County High Point84020  
67.HaywoodHaywood County High Point50010  
68.HendersonHenderson County High Point700120  
69.HenryHenry County High Point650180  
70.HickmanBon Aqua Lookout Tower98060  
71.HoustonHouston County High Point86040  
72.HumphreysDickhum Benchmark Area8800  
73.LakeLake County High Point32237  
74.LawrenceLawrence County High Point110040  
75.LewisLewis County High Point10600  
76.LincolnLincoln County High Point150060  
77.MaconMacon County High Point1100140  
78.MadisonMadison County High Point660160  
79.MarshallTwitty Knob East1280118  
80.MontgomeryMontgomery County High Point80626  
81.MooreChestnut Ridge126060  
82.ObionObion County High Point551181  
83.PerryPerry County High Point98060  
84.RobertsonRobertson County High Point92020  
85.RutherfordRutherford County High Point1360140  
86.ShelbyShelby County High Point43010  
87.StewartStewart County High Point76060  
88.TiptonTipton County High Point450100  
89.TrousdaleTrousdale County High Point1100360  
90.WayneWayne County High Point1080135  
91.WeakleyWeakley County High Point60070  
92.WilliamsonWilliamson County High Point1256466  
93.WilsonMount Defiance Southwest1363483  
94.MarionLockhart Lookout Tower-South Summit23800  
95.JohnsonSnake Mountain-North Peak551838  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Bob Mattson, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in Tennessee, you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1995 by Carl Mills, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for points in the lowlands of the state provided by Tom Owen via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Bob Mattson   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1072973 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service