Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

Tennessee County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-Ft  Prom-Ft TotalRound 1
1.AndersonCross Mountain35342094  
2.BedfordLocust Knob West1340115  
3.BentonRound Top680117  
4.BledsoeHolloway Ridge2680240  
5.BlountThunderhead Mountain55271087  
6.BradleyWhite Oak Mountain-Ooltewah Lookout1495615  
7.CampbellCross Mountain35342094  
8.CannonShort Mountain20921002  
9.CarrollMaple Creek Lookout700180  
10.CarterRoan High Knob62853485  
11.CheathamSullivan Ridge West900260  
12.ChesterSand Mountain740240  
13.ClaiborneBryson Mountain31291489  
14.ClayPilot Knob1400460  
15.CockeOld Black6370170  
16.CoffeeCoffee County High Point202020  
17.CrockettCrockett County High Point48060  
18.CumberlandHinch Mountain30481588  
19.DavidsonDavidson County High Point1160420  
20.DecaturMount Carmel West700180  
21.DeKalbDekalb County High Point1330110  
22.DicksonDickson County High Point960160  
23.DyerDyer County High Point515185  
24.FayetteGordon Hill67797  
25.FentressFentress County High Point187010  
26.FranklinSewanee Benchmark203999  
27.GibsonGibson County High Point57060  
28.GilesFlanigan Hill1160200  
29.GraingerClinch Mountain-Grainger County HP2520480  
30.GreeneGravel Knob4852332  
31.GrundyLockhart Lookout Tower23822  
32.HamblenCrockett Ridge1952732  
33.HamiltonLookout Mountain2146381  
34.HancockNewman Ridge2620940  
35.HardemanHickory Benchmark68888  
36.HardinHardin County High Point84020  
37.HawkinsChimneytop-Southwest Peak31181738  
38.HaywoodHaywood County High Point50010  
39.HendersonHenderson County High Point700120  
40.HenryHenry County High Point650180  
41.HickmanBon Aqua Lookout Tower98060  
42.HoustonHouston County High Point86040  
43.HumphreysDickhum Benchmark Area8800  
44.JacksonTick Ridge112060  
45.JeffersonEnglish Mountain36292292  
46.JohnsonSnake Mountain-North Peak551838  
47.KnoxHouse Mountain20801000  
48.LakeLake County High Point32237  
49.LauderdaleLauderdale County High Point520180  
50.LawrenceLawrence County High Point110040  
51.LewisLewis County High Point10600  
52.LincolnLincoln County High Point150060  
53.LoudonAlexander Knob1313333  
54.McMinnStarr Mountain2340460  
55.McNairyMount Peter680120  
56.MaconMacon County High Point1100140  
57.MadisonMadison County High Point660160  
58.MarionLockhart Lookout Tower-South Summit23800  
59.MarshallTwitty Knob East1280118  
60.MauryFlanigan Hill1160200  
61.MeigsMcMinn Ridge1296396  
62.MonroeHaw Knob5472192  
63.MontgomeryMontgomery County High Point80626  
64.MooreChestnut Ridge126060  
65.MorganBig Fodderstack3340980  
66.ObionObion County High Point551181  
67.OvertonHampton Mountain2020120  
68.PerryPerry County High Point98060  
69.PickettGolman Mountain1786666  
70.PolkBig Frog Mountain42002480  
71.PutnamPutnam County High Point20600  
72.RheaWalden Ridge-Rhea County HP20400  
73.RoaneMount Roosevelt2036576  
74.RobertsonRobertson County High Point92020  
75.RutherfordRutherford County High Point1360140  
76.ScottBurge Mountain3260380  
77.SequatchieSequatchie County High Point2380440  
78.SevierClingmans Dome66434503  
79.ShelbyShelby County High Point43010  
80.SmithWalnut Knob1248488  
81.StewartStewart County High Point76060  
82.SullivanHolston High Point42801600  
83.SumnerSumner County High Point1085165  
84.TiptonTipton County High Point450100  
85.TrousdaleTrousdale County High Point1100360  
86.UnicoiBig Bald55162556  
87.UnionSignal Point2300560  
88.Van burenSmartt Mountain2142262  
89.WarrenWarren County High Point198040  
90.WashingtonPinnacle Mountain35201550  
91.WayneWayne County High Point1080135  
92.WeakleyWeakley County High Point60070  
93.WhiteWhite County High Point2009149  
94.WilliamsonWilliamson County High Point1256466  
95.WilsonMount Defiance Southwest1363483  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Bob Mattson, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in Tennessee, you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1995 by Carl Mills, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for points in the lowlands of the state provided by Tom Owen via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Bob Mattson   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1068257 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2019 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service