Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

Tennessee County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-Ft
TotalRound 1
1.SevierClingmans Dome66434523  
2.CockeOld Black6370210  
3.CarterRoan High Knob62853525  
4.BlountThunderhead Mountain55271127  
5.JohnsonSnake Mountain-North Peak551878  
6.UnicoiBig Bald55162596  
7.MonroeHaw Knob5472232  
8.GreeneGravel Knob4852372  
9.SullivanHolston High Point43201660  
10.PolkBig Frog Mountain42402560  
11.JeffersonEnglish Mountain36292332  
12.WashingtonPinnacle Mountain35601590  
13.AndersonCross Mountain35342114  
13.CampbellCross Mountain35342114  
15.MorganBig Fodderstack33601020  
16.ScottBurge Mountain3280420  
17.ClaiborneBryson Mountain31291509  
18.HawkinsChimneytop-Southwest Peak31181758  
19.CumberlandHinch Mountain30481608  
20.BledsoeHolloway Ridge2700280  
21.HancockNewman Ridge2640980  
22.GraingerClinch Mountain-Grainger County HP2540520  
23.SequatchieSequatchie County High Point2400480  
23.MarionLockhart Lookout Tower-South Summit240040  
25.GrundyLockhart Lookout Tower238222  
26.McMinnStarr Mountain2360500  
27.UnionSignal Point2320600  
28.HamiltonLookout Mountain2146381  
29.Van burenSmartt Mountain2142282  
30.KnoxHouse Mountain21001040  
31.CannonShort Mountain20921012  
32.PutnamPutnam County High Point208040  
33.RheaWalden Ridge-Rhea County HP206040  
34.OvertonHampton Mountain2040160  
34.CoffeeCoffee County High Point204060  
36.FranklinSewanee Benchmark2039119  
37.RoaneMount Roosevelt2036596  
38.WhiteWhite County High Point2009169  
39.WarrenWarren County High Point200080  
40.HamblenCrockett Ridge1952752  
41.FentressFentress County High Point187030  
42.PickettGolman Mountain1786686  
43.LincolnLincoln County High Point1520100  
44.BradleyWhite Oak Mountain-Ooltewah Lookout1495635  
45.ClayPilot Knob1420500  
46.WilsonMount Defiance Southwest1363503  
47.RutherfordRutherford County High Point1360160  
48.BedfordLocust Knob West1340115  
49.DeKalbDekalb County High Point1330130  
50.LoudonAlexander Knob1313353  
51.MarshallTwitty Knob East1300138  
52.MeigsMcMinn Ridge1296416  
53.MooreChestnut Ridge1280100  
54.WilliamsonWilliamson County High Point1256476  
55.SmithWalnut Knob1248508  
56.GilesFlanigan Hill1180240  
56.MauryFlanigan Hill1180240  
58.DavidsonDavidson County High Point1170440  
59.JacksonTick Ridge1140100  
60.MaconMacon County High Point1120180  
60.LawrenceLawrence County High Point112080  
62.TrousdaleTrousdale County High Point1100380  
63.SumnerSumner County High Point1085185  
64.WayneWayne County High Point1080135  
65.LewisLewis County High Point10600  
66.PerryPerry County High Point1000100  
66.HickmanBon Aqua Lookout Tower1000100  
68.DicksonDickson County High Point980200  
69.CheathamSullivan Ridge West920300  
69.RobertsonRobertson County High Point92040  
71.HumphreysDickhum Benchmark Area88020  
72.HoustonHouston County High Point86060  
73.HardinHardin County High Point84040  
74.MontgomeryMontgomery County High Point80646  
75.StewartStewart County High Point76080  
75.ChesterSand Mountain760280  
77.CarrollMaple Creek Lookout720220  
77.HendersonHenderson County High Point720160  
79.DecaturMount Carmel West700200  
79.BentonRound Top700137  
79.McNairyMount Peter700160  
82.HardemanHickory Benchmark688108  
83.MadisonMadison County High Point680200  
84.FayetteGordon Hill677117  
85.HenryHenry County High Point650190  
86.WeakleyWeakley County High Point61090  
87.GibsonGibson County High Point57070  
88.ObionObion County High Point551191  
89.LauderdaleLauderdale County High Point530200  
90.DyerDyer County High Point515195  
91.HaywoodHaywood County High Point51020  
92.CrockettCrockett County High Point49080  
93.TiptonTipton County High Point450110  
94.ShelbyShelby County High Point43020  
95.LakeLake County High Point32237  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Bob Mattson, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in Tennessee, you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1995 by Carl Mills, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for points in the lowlands of the state provided by Tom Owen via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Bob Mattson   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1072902 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service