Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

Tennessee County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-Ft
TotalRound 1
1.SumnerSumner County High Point1085185  
2.ClayPilot Knob1420500  
3.PickettGolman Mountain1786686  
4.JacksonTick Ridge1140100  
5.OvertonHampton Mountain2040160  
6.FentressFentress County High Point187030  
7.SmithWalnut Knob1248508  
8.PutnamPutnam County High Point208040  
9.DavidsonDavidson County High Point1170440  
10.WhiteWhite County High Point2009169  
11.CannonShort Mountain20921012  
12.DeKalbDekalb County High Point1330130  
13.Van burenSmartt Mountain2142282  
14.WarrenWarren County High Point200080  
15.GilesFlanigan Hill1180240  
16.MauryFlanigan Hill1180240  
17.CoffeeCoffee County High Point204060  
18.GrundyLockhart Lookout Tower238222  
19.FranklinSewanee Benchmark2039119  
20.RoaneMount Roosevelt2036596  
21.CumberlandHinch Mountain30481608  
22.BledsoeHolloway Ridge2700280  
23.RheaWalden Ridge-Rhea County HP206040  
24.SequatchieSequatchie County High Point2400480  
25.ClaiborneBryson Mountain31291509  
26.AndersonCross Mountain35342114  
27.CampbellCross Mountain35342114  
28.ScottBurge Mountain3280420  
29.MorganBig Fodderstack33601020  
30.CarrollMaple Creek Lookout720220  
31.BentonRound Top700137  
32.LauderdaleLauderdale County High Point530200  
33.ChesterSand Mountain760280  
34.McNairyMount Peter700160  
35.FayetteGordon Hill677117  
36.HamiltonLookout Mountain2146381  
37.BradleyWhite Oak Mountain-Ooltewah Lookout1495635  
38.HawkinsChimneytop-Southwest Peak31181758  
39.HamblenCrockett Ridge1952752  
40.GraingerClinch Mountain-Grainger County HP2540520  
41.UnionSignal Point2320600  
42.KnoxHouse Mountain21001040  
43.HancockNewman Ridge2640980  
44.PolkBig Frog Mountain42402560  
45.MeigsMcMinn Ridge1296416  
46.MonroeHaw Knob5472232  
47.McMinnStarr Mountain2360500  
48.LoudonAlexander Knob1313353  
49.BlountThunderhead Mountain55271127  
50.SevierClingmans Dome66434523  
51.JeffersonEnglish Mountain36292332  
52.CockeOld Black6370210  
53.WashingtonPinnacle Mountain35601590  
54.SullivanHolston High Point43201660  
55.CarterRoan High Knob62853525  
56.UnicoiBig Bald55162596  
57.GreeneGravel Knob4852372  
58.BedfordLocust Knob West1340115  
59.CheathamSullivan Ridge West920300  
60.CrockettCrockett County High Point49080  
61.DecaturMount Carmel West700200  
62.DicksonDickson County High Point980200  
63.DyerDyer County High Point515195  
64.GibsonGibson County High Point57070  
65.HardemanHickory Benchmark688108  
66.HardinHardin County High Point84040  
67.HaywoodHaywood County High Point51020  
68.HendersonHenderson County High Point720160  
69.HenryHenry County High Point650190  
70.HickmanBon Aqua Lookout Tower1000100  
71.HoustonHouston County High Point86060  
72.HumphreysDickhum Benchmark Area88020  
73.LakeLake County High Point32237  
74.LawrenceLawrence County High Point112080  
75.LewisLewis County High Point10600  
76.LincolnLincoln County High Point1520100  
77.MaconMacon County High Point1120180  
78.MadisonMadison County High Point680200  
79.MarshallTwitty Knob East1300138  
80.MontgomeryMontgomery County High Point80646  
81.MooreChestnut Ridge1280100  
82.ObionObion County High Point551191  
83.PerryPerry County High Point1000100  
84.RobertsonRobertson County High Point92040  
85.RutherfordRutherford County High Point1360160  
86.ShelbyShelby County High Point43020  
87.StewartStewart County High Point76080  
88.TiptonTipton County High Point450110  
89.TrousdaleTrousdale County High Point1100380  
90.WayneWayne County High Point1080135  
91.WeakleyWeakley County High Point61090  
92.WilliamsonWilliamson County High Point1256476  
93.WilsonMount Defiance Southwest1363503  
94.MarionLockhart Lookout Tower-South Summit240040  
95.JohnsonSnake Mountain-North Peak551878  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Bob Mattson, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in Tennessee, you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1995 by Carl Mills, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for points in the lowlands of the state provided by Tom Owen via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Bob Mattson   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1072648 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service