Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using U.S. Units (Feet)

Tennessee County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-M
TotalRound 1
1.SevierClingmans Dome20251379  
2.CockeOld Black194264  
3.CarterRoan High Knob19161074  
4.BlountThunderhead Mountain1685344  
5.JohnsonSnake Mountain-North Peak168224  
6.UnicoiBig Bald1681791  
7.MonroeHaw Knob166871  
8.GreeneGravel Knob1479113  
9.SullivanHolston High Point1317506  
10.PolkBig Frog Mountain1292780  
11.JeffersonEnglish Mountain1106711  
12.WashingtonPinnacle Mountain1085485  
13.AndersonCross Mountain1077644  
13.CampbellCross Mountain1077644  
15.MorganBig Fodderstack1024311  
16.ScottBurge Mountain1000128  
17.ClaiborneBryson Mountain954460  
18.HawkinsChimneytop-Southwest Peak950536  
19.CumberlandHinch Mountain929490  
20.BledsoeHolloway Ridge82385  
21.HancockNewman Ridge805299  
22.GraingerClinch Mountain-Grainger County HP774158  
23.MarionLockhart Lookout Tower-South Summit73212  
23.SequatchieSequatchie County High Point732146  
25.GrundyLockhart Lookout Tower7267  
26.McMinnStarr Mountain719152  
27.UnionSignal Point707183  
28.HamiltonLookout Mountain654116  
29.Van burenSmartt Mountain65386  
30.KnoxHouse Mountain640317  
31.CannonShort Mountain638308  
32.PutnamPutnam County High Point63412  
33.RheaWalden Ridge-Rhea County HP62812  
34.OvertonHampton Mountain62249  
34.CoffeeCoffee County High Point62218  
36.FranklinSewanee Benchmark62136  
37.RoaneMount Roosevelt621182  
38.WhiteWhite County High Point61252  
39.WarrenWarren County High Point61024  
40.HamblenCrockett Ridge595229  
41.FentressFentress County High Point5709  
42.PickettGolman Mountain544209  
43.LincolnLincoln County High Point46330  
44.BradleyWhite Oak Mountain-Ooltewah Lookout456194  
45.ClayPilot Knob433152  
46.WilsonMount Defiance Southwest415153  
47.RutherfordRutherford County High Point41549  
48.BedfordLocust Knob West40835  
49.DeKalbDekalb County High Point40540  
50.LoudonAlexander Knob400108  
51.MarshallTwitty Knob East39642  
52.MeigsMcMinn Ridge395127  
53.MooreChestnut Ridge39030  
54.WilliamsonWilliamson County High Point383145  
55.SmithWalnut Knob380155  
56.MauryFlanigan Hill36073  
56.GilesFlanigan Hill36073  
58.DavidsonDavidson County High Point357134  
59.JacksonTick Ridge34730  
60.LawrenceLawrence County High Point34124  
60.MaconMacon County High Point34155  
62.TrousdaleTrousdale County High Point335116  
63.SumnerSumner County High Point33156  
64.WayneWayne County High Point32941  
65.LewisLewis County High Point3230  
66.HickmanBon Aqua Lookout Tower30530  
66.PerryPerry County High Point30530  
68.DicksonDickson County High Point29961  
69.CheathamSullivan Ridge West28091  
69.RobertsonRobertson County High Point28012  
71.HumphreysDickhum Benchmark Area2686  
72.HoustonHouston County High Point26218  
73.HardinHardin County High Point25612  
74.MontgomeryMontgomery County High Point24614  
75.ChesterSand Mountain23285  
75.StewartStewart County High Point23224  
77.CarrollMaple Creek Lookout21967  
77.HendersonHenderson County High Point21949  
79.BentonRound Top21342  
79.DecaturMount Carmel West21361  
79.McNairyMount Peter21349  
82.HardemanHickory Benchmark21033  
83.MadisonMadison County High Point20761  
84.FayetteGordon Hill20636  
85.HenryHenry County High Point19858  
86.WeakleyWeakley County High Point18627  
87.GibsonGibson County High Point17421  
88.ObionObion County High Point16858  
89.LauderdaleLauderdale County High Point16261  
90.DyerDyer County High Point15759  
91.HaywoodHaywood County High Point1556  
92.CrockettCrockett County High Point14924  
93.TiptonTipton County High Point13734  
94.ShelbyShelby County High Point1316  
95.LakeLake County High Point9811  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Bob Mattson, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in Tennessee, you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1995 by Carl Mills, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for points in the lowlands of the state provided by Tom Owen via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Bob Mattson   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1072427 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service