Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic All Ascent DatesCount a peak only once per dayShow List using U.S. Units (Feet)

Tennessee County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-M  Prom-M TotalRound 1
1.SevierClingmans Dome20251373  
2.CockeOld Black194252  
3.CarterRoan High Knob19161062  
4.BlountThunderhead Mountain1685331  
5.JohnsonSnake Mountain-North Peak168212  
6.UnicoiBig Bald1681779  
7.MonroeHaw Knob166859  
8.GreeneGravel Knob1479101  
9.SullivanHolston High Point1305488  
10.PolkBig Frog Mountain1280756  
11.JeffersonEnglish Mountain1106699  
12.AndersonCross Mountain1077638  
12.CampbellCross Mountain1077638  
14.WashingtonPinnacle Mountain1073472  
15.MorganBig Fodderstack1018299  
16.ScottBurge Mountain994116  
17.ClaiborneBryson Mountain954454  
18.HawkinsChimneytop-Southwest Peak950530  
19.CumberlandHinch Mountain929484  
20.BledsoeHolloway Ridge81773  
21.HancockNewman Ridge799287  
22.GraingerClinch Mountain-Grainger County HP768146  
23.GrundyLockhart Lookout Tower7261  
24.MarionLockhart Lookout Tower-South Summit7250  
24.SequatchieSequatchie County High Point725134  
26.McMinnStarr Mountain713140  
27.UnionSignal Point701171  
28.HamiltonLookout Mountain654116  
29.Van burenSmartt Mountain65380  
30.CannonShort Mountain638305  
31.KnoxHouse Mountain634305  
32.PutnamPutnam County High Point6280  
33.RheaWalden Ridge-Rhea County HP6220  
34.FranklinSewanee Benchmark62130  
35.RoaneMount Roosevelt621176  
36.OvertonHampton Mountain61637  
36.CoffeeCoffee County High Point6166  
38.WhiteWhite County High Point61245  
39.WarrenWarren County High Point60412  
40.HamblenCrockett Ridge595223  
41.FentressFentress County High Point5703  
42.PickettGolman Mountain544203  
43.LincolnLincoln County High Point45718  
44.BradleyWhite Oak Mountain-Ooltewah Lookout456187  
45.ClayPilot Knob427140  
46.WilsonMount Defiance Southwest415147  
47.RutherfordRutherford County High Point41543  
48.BedfordLocust Knob West40835  
49.DeKalbDekalb County High Point40534  
50.LoudonAlexander Knob400101  
51.MeigsMcMinn Ridge395121  
52.MarshallTwitty Knob East39036  
53.MooreChestnut Ridge38418  
54.WilliamsonWilliamson County High Point383142  
55.SmithWalnut Knob380149  
56.MauryFlanigan Hill35461  
56.DavidsonDavidson County High Point354128  
56.GilesFlanigan Hill35461  
59.JacksonTick Ridge34118  
60.LawrenceLawrence County High Point33512  
60.MaconMacon County High Point33543  
60.TrousdaleTrousdale County High Point335110  
63.SumnerSumner County High Point33150  
64.WayneWayne County High Point32941  
65.LewisLewis County High Point3230  
66.HickmanBon Aqua Lookout Tower29918  
66.PerryPerry County High Point29918  
68.DicksonDickson County High Point29349  
69.RobertsonRobertson County High Point2806  
70.CheathamSullivan Ridge West27479  
71.HumphreysDickhum Benchmark Area2680  
72.HoustonHouston County High Point26212  
73.HardinHardin County High Point2566  
74.MontgomeryMontgomery County High Point2468  
75.StewartStewart County High Point23218  
76.ChesterSand Mountain22673  
77.CarrollMaple Creek Lookout21355  
77.DecaturMount Carmel West21355  
77.HendersonHenderson County High Point21337  
80.HardemanHickory Benchmark21027  
81.BentonRound Top20736  
81.McNairyMount Peter20737  
83.FayetteGordon Hill20630  
84.MadisonMadison County High Point20149  
85.HenryHenry County High Point19855  
86.WeakleyWeakley County High Point18321  
87.GibsonGibson County High Point17418  
88.ObionObion County High Point16855  
89.LauderdaleLauderdale County High Point15855  
90.DyerDyer County High Point15756  
91.HaywoodHaywood County High Point1523  
92.CrockettCrockett County High Point14618  
93.TiptonTipton County High Point13730  
94.ShelbyShelby County High Point1313  
95.LakeLake County High Point9811  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Bob Mattson, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in Tennessee, you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1995 by Carl Mills, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for points in the lowlands of the state provided by Tom Owen via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Bob Mattson   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1072416 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service