Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using U.S. Units (Feet)

South Dakota County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-M
TotalRound 1
1.AuroraAurora County High Point61068  
2.BeadleBeadle County High Point57621  
3.BennettBennett County High Point110931  
4.Bon HommeBon Homme County High Point582111  
5.BrookingsBrookings County High Point6075  
6.BrownBrown County High Point46610  
7.BruleBijou Hills64388  
8.BuffaloEden Benchmark61918  
9.ButteThe Brakes123785  
10.CampbellCampbell County High Point652126  
11.Charles MixCharles Mix County High Point649134  
12.ClarkClark County High Point58852  
13.ClayClay County High Point46052  
14.CodingtonPunished Womans Mound63755  
15.CorsonThunder Hawk Butte82637  
16.CusterSylvan Hill2134244  
17.DavisonDavison County High Point51734  
18.DayDay County High Point6256  
19.DeuelDeuel County High Point62558  
20.DeweyLantry Benchmark75014  
21.DouglasDouglas County High Point5490  
22.EdmundsEdmunds County High Point64621  
23.Fall RiverParker Peak1478208  
24.FaulkWaters Hill62055  
25.GrantGrant County High Point63134  
26.GregoryGregory County High Point72227  
27.HaakonHaakon County High Point86650  
28.HamlinHamlin County High Point5942  
29.HandRocky Benchmark67071  
30.HansonHanson County High Point4364  
31.HardingHarding Peak1225195  
32.HughesHughes County High Point62514  
33.HutchinsonHutchinson County High Point5828  
34.HydeHyde County High Point674155  
35.JacksonJackson County High Point10605  
36.JerauldJerauld County High Point62882  
37.JonesWhite Clay Butte76770  
38.KingsburyKingsbury County High Point57626  
39.LakeLake County High Point57054  
40.LawrenceCrooks Tower2175164  
41.LincolnLincoln County High Point47776  
42.LymanMedicine Benchmark689151  
43.McCookMcCook County High Point57038  
44.McPhersonMcPherson County High Point66824  
45.MarshallMarshall County High Point63743  
46.MeadeMeade County High Point167061  
47.MelletteMellette County High Point86624  
48.MinerMiner County High Point55229  
49.MinnehahaMinnehaha County High Point55820  
50.MoodyMoody County High Point54621  
51.PenningtonBlack Elk Peak2204893  
52.PerkinsPerkins County High Point97033  
53.PotterPotter County High Point68099  
54.RobertsRoberts County High Point651255  
55.SanbornSanborn County High Point4216  
56.Oglala LakotaOglala Lakota County High Point113392  
57.SpinkBald Mountain45147  
58.StanleyStanley County High Point72664  
59.SullySully Buttes63569  
60.ToddTodd County High Point10090  
61.TrippTripp County High Point80629  
62.TurnerTurner County High Point53394  
63.UnionUnion County High Point47221  
64.WalworthWalworth County High Point683120  
65.YanktonYankton County High Point51218  
66.ZiebachZiebach County High Point83261  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Robert Kleffner, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in South Dakota, then you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1994 by David Olson, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for peaks provided by Tom Dunigan via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Robert Kleffner   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 621633 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service