Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

Minnesota County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-Ft
TotalRound 1
1.CookEagle Mountain23011326  
2.LakeStony Tower Hill2080385  
3.ClearwaterHeight of Land Lookout2005678  
4.PipestonePipestone County High Point1995240  
5.LincolnLincoln County High Point1994229  
6.Saint LouisPike Mountain1955530  
7.MurrayBuffalo Ridge1925100  
8.BeckerWolf Lake Lookout1865320  
9.HubbardHubbard County High Point1845125  
10.MahnomenMahnomen County High Point182510  
11.NoblesNobles County High Point181510  
12.Otter TailOtter Tail County High Point1795470  
12.RockHardwick Benchmark179560  
14.ItascaBig Thunder Peak1752447  
15.LyonLyon County High Point174025  
15.Yellow MedicineYellow Medicine County High Point174025  
17.CassCass-Chippewa High Point1635   
18.DouglasBear Knob1625160  
19.AitkinQuadna Mountain1595310  
20.CottonwoodCottonwood County High Point1575170  
20.JacksonJackson County High Point157540  
20.PolkPolk County High Point157570  
23.ClayClay County High Point1545180  
24.MorrisonMorrison County High Point1530205  
25.KoochichingKoochiching County High Point1525150  
26.WadenaWadena County High Point152065  
27.BeltramiBeltrami County High Point1515138  
28.ToddMount Nebo151186  
29.Crow WingCrow Wing County High Point149560  
30.PopePope County High Point146560  
30.StearnsStearns County High Point1465290  
32.RedwoodRedwood County High Point145510  
33.CarltonCarlton County High Point1453126  
34.FaribaultFaribault County High Point1445210  
34.MowerMower County High Point1445120  
36.MartinMartin County High Point141525  
37.Lac Qui ParleLac Qui Parle County High Point14101  
37.KandiyohiKandiyohi County High Point1410185  
39.FillmoreFillmore County High Point140560  
39.FreebornFreeborn County High Point140530  
39.GrantGrant County High Point140580  
42.DodgeDodge County High Point138186  
43.OlmstedOlmsted County High Point1380168  
44.Mille LacsMille Lacs County High Point1375120  
45.PinePine County High Point1365103  
45.WinonaWinona County High Point1365195  
47.SteeleSteele County High Point135578  
48.NormanFrenchmans Bluff135499  
49.HoustonHouston County High Point1350240  
50.KanabecKanabec County High Point132540  
51.Lake of the WoodsLake of the Woods County High Point1318126  
52.BentonBenton County High Point131550  
53.SwiftSwift County High Point130550  
53.WatonwanWatonwan County High Point130520  
55.WasecaWaseca County High Point129015  
56.StevensStevens County High Point127550  
56.GoodhueGoodhue County High Point127530  
58.RoseauRoseau County High Point127316  
59.RiceRice County High Point127035  
60.MeekerMeeker County High Point126580  
61.BrownBrown County High Point12630  
62.WilkinWilkin County High Point12520  
63.WabashaGreenfield Hill1250140  
64.MarshallMarshall County High Point12386  
65.ScottElko Benchmark1235212  
66.WrightFrench Benchmark1223168  
67.Red LakeRed Lake County High Point12136  
68.Big StoneBig Stone County High Point120538  
68.TraverseLayden Benchmark120588  
70.Blue EarthBlue Earth County High Point1195170  
70.DakotaBuck Hill1195220  
70.Le SueurLe Sueur County High Point119560  
73.PenningtonPennington County High Point11886  
74.RenvilleRenville County High Point114530  
74.McLeodMcLeod County High Point114570  
76.ChisagoChisago County High Point1135230  
77.HennepinHennepin County High Point1125180  
78.ChippewaChippewa County High Point112015  
79.SherburneSherburne County High Point111590  
80.IsantiBarrett Benchmark1111146  
81.AnokaAnoka County High Point110540  
81.RamseyRamsey County High Point1105220  
83.WashingtonWashington County High Point1104189  
84.SibleySibley County High Point109015  
85.KittsonKittson County High Point10820  
86.CarverCarver County High Point1080115  
87.NicolletNicollet County High Point106540  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by François Desaulniers, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in Minnesota, then you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1996 by David Olson, limited review by Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for peaks provided by Tom Owen via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by François Desaulniers   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1436274 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2019 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service