Jump to Map of List PeaksShow List using Metric Units

Mountaineers Tahoma Peaks

All 8 Groups Together

RankPeakSection Elev-Ft Range (Level 6) Prom-Ft Ascents
1.Burroughs MountainGroup 87828Mount Rainier North Foothills388373
2.Tokaloo RockGroup 17684Mount Rainier West Foothills20479
3.Cowlitz ChimneysGroup 77605Mount Rainier East Foothills96568
4.Cowlitz Chimneys-Central PeakGroup 77421Mount Rainier East Foothills30173
5.Banshee PeakGroup 77400Mount Rainier East Foothills360149
6.Goat Island MountainGroup 67288Mount Rainier Massif888136
7.Palisades PeakGroup 87040Sourdough Mountains600132
8.Crystal MountainGroup 56998Central South Cascade Crest2304217
9.Unicorn PeakGroup 46971Tatoosh Range2091430
10.Marcus PeakGroup 86962Sourdough Mountains482123
11.Pyramid PeakGroup 16937Mount Rainier Massif497120
12.Tamanos MountainGroup 66790Mount Rainier East Foothills750167
13.Dewey PeakGroup 56710Mount Aix Area139075
14.South Slide MountainGroup 86620Sourdough Mountains660108
15.Governors RidgeGroup 66600Mount Rainier East Foothills124069
16.Pinnacle PeakGroup 36562Tatoosh Range562432
17.Stevens PeakGroup 46560Tatoosh Range76063
18.Foss PeakGroup 36524Tatoosh Range404188
19.Barrier PeakGroup 66521Mount Rainier East Foothills28199
20.Naches PeakGroup 56452Mount Aix Area69292
21.The CastleGroup 36440Tatoosh Range200291
22.Plummer PeakGroup 36370Tatoosh Range410334
23.Tatoosh PeakGroup 46310Tatoosh Range950117
24.Wahpenayo PeakGroup 26231Tatoosh Range791157
25.Double PeakGroup 76199Mount Rainier East Foothills75950
26.Mount WowGroup 16040Mount Rainier West Foothills2120148
27.Lane PeakGroup 26012Tatoosh Range332204
28.Mount AraratGroup 16010Mount Rainier West Foothills610164
29.Chutla PeakGroup 26000Tatoosh Range600203
30.Eagle PeakGroup 25958Tatoosh Range238247
31.Shriner PeakGroup 55834Mount Aix Area754213
32.Dixon MountainGroup 45134Tatoosh Range109459

Front Runners List: Click to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

Earning the Mountaineers Tahoma Peak Pins is somewhat complex. The 32 peaks are divided into 8 groups of 4 each, and to earn the First Pin you must climb at least 3 peaks in any 4 groups, and for the Second Pin you must climb 3 peaks in all 8 groups. So 12 of these peaks are required for the first pin, and 24 for the second. Consult the Mountaineers for which peaks are in which groups.

All these summits are in the southern foothills of Mount Rainier. The Irish Cabin Peaks List focuses on the foothills in the northern side of "The Mountain". Many of the Tahoma peaks are in the Tatoosh Range, a distinct crescent of low but rugged peaks lying due south of Mount Rainier. Completing this list in any form is not the for the causal hiker, but the ascents are generally not serious mountaineering challenges, either. Most of the peaks here are nice alpine scrambles.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peak with Rank #1 on List;   = Other Peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 717576 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service