Jump to Map of List PeaksWinter Ascent Dates only (Help)Show List using U.S. Units (Feet)

Ontario County High Points

Showing Jan-Frode Myklebust's first ascent dates for climbed peaks (0 out of 51, or 0%)

RankCountyPeak Elev-M Range (Level 4)AscentsAscent Date
1.Sudbury DistrictIshpatina Ridge693Northern Ontario46 
2.Thunder BayTower Mountain679Northern Ontario6 
3.TimiskamingIshpatina Ridge North677Northern Ontario6 
4.AlgomaOgidaki Mountain665Northern Ontario5 
5.NipissingSouthern Ontario High Point578Southern Ontario9 
6.HaliburtonManitou Mountain563Southern Ontario7 
7.KenoraKenora District High Point559Northern Ontario3 
8.GreyGrey County High Point544Southern Ontario10 
8.SimcoeNiagara Escarpment High Point544Southern Ontario12 
8.Rainy RiverRainy River District High Point544Northern Ontario2 
11.DufferinDufferin County High Point542Southern Ontario10 
11.HastingsHastings County High Point542Southern Ontario4 
11.MuskokaMuskoka High Point542Southern Ontario7 
14.Parry SoundParry Sound High Point532Southern Ontario5 
15.RenfrewRyans Mountain523Southern Ontario10 
16.WellingtonLuther Benchmark511Southern Ontario9 
17.Sudbury CityWolf Lake Mountain504Northern Ontario6 
18.Lennox and AddingtonMoger Pond Peak501Southern Ontario5 
19.PeelPeel High Point494Southern Ontario5 
20.CochraneGhost Range Peak488Northern Ontario7 
21.WaterlooWaterloo High Point438Southern Ontario8 
22.PeterboroughPeterborough County High Point434Southern Ontario5 
23.PerthPerth County High Point427Southern Ontario8 
24.FrontenacEvergreen Mountain417Southern Ontario7 
25.HaltonHalton High Point414Southern Ontario14 
26.DurhamDurham High Point410Southern Ontario9 
27.BruceBruce County High Point403Southern Ontario6 
28.HuronHuron County High Point397Southern Ontario5 
28.Kawartha LakesKawartha Lakes High Point397Southern Ontario8 
30.OxfordOxford County High Point391Southern Ontario12 
31.LanarkWhite Mountain386Southern Ontario7 
32.YorkYork High Point379Southern Ontario12 
33.NorthumberlandNorthumberland County High Point356Southern Ontario6 
34.ManitoulinCup and Saucer352Southern Ontario23 
35.MiddlesexMiddlesex County High Point342Southern Ontario10 
36.HamiltonHamilton High Point330Southern Ontario5 
37.BrantBrant County High Point327Southern Ontario4 
38.ElginElgin County High Point296Southern Ontario5 
39.NorfolkNorfolk County High Point278Southern Ontario5 
40.BrantfordBrantford High Point267Southern Ontario9 
41.LambtonLambton County High Point264Southern Ontario8 
42.NiagaraNiagara High Point259Southern Ontario16 
43.Chatham-KentChatham-Kent High Point233Southern Ontario6 
44.HaldimandHaldimand County High Point231Southern Ontario4 
45.EssexEssex County High Point228Southern Ontario4 
46.Leeds and GrenvilleLeeds and Grenville High Point212Southern Ontario7 
46.TorontoToronto High Point212Southern Ontario25 
48.OttawaOttawa High Point166Southern Ontario10 
49.Prince EdwardEast Picton Bay Hill155Southern Ontario12 
50.Stormont, Dundas and GlengarryStormont-Dundas-Glengarry High Point125Southern Ontario8 
51.Prescott and RussellVankleek Hill123Southern Ontario16 

Front Runners List: Click to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Multiple Ascents Grid: Click for a grid showing all of Jan-Frode Myklebust's ascents of peaks on this list (including up to 10 rounds of repeats).

Compare Climbers: Click to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

Ontario is administratively divided into 51 units that are a mixture of counties, unified counties, regional municipalities, districts, cities, and municipalities. Most of them were historically counties at one point, and despite changes in name or status, the boundaries have remained mostly stable over the years.

These units also correspond to the Canadian Census Divisions for the most part. Since the last revision of Census Divisions in 2001, the combined county of Haldimand-Norfolk split into Haldimand County and Norfolk County, and the City of Brantford separated from Brant County. That is why there are 51 entiries on this list, while the Census lists only 49 Divisions.


The main source for the Ontario county high point list was the excellent Ontario Basic Mapping database system created by the provincial government, which is a huge improvement over the old NTS 1:50,000 map sheets. To help generate this list, all the spot elevations (over 500,000 of them) in the OBM data were downloaded, matched to their county by a point-in-polygon operation, and the highest spot elevations picked out. Sometimes there was a swarm of spot elevations of the same height in the same general location, and one represenative point was picked. In other cases, separate areas were logged (see, for example, Chatham-Kent). Also, some OBM spot elevations were clearly erroneous outliers and had to be discarded. In general, though, a 1-meter difference in spot elevations was considered significant, and these lower points were not considered high-point candidates.

Once a set of county high points was generated, they were cross-checked with the 1:50,000 NTS maps, and some were adjusted a little bit based on information there. The result should be a reasonably accurate guide to the highest ground in the counties. Before tackling any county, though, be sure to check the OBM and NTS maps yourself to familiarlize yourself with the area. You may have to check out several nearby areas to be sure of locating the highest piece of earth, an occupational hazard of highpointers in relatively flat terrain like Ontario.


     Ontario Basic Mapping


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Jan-Frode Myklebust   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 631870 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service