Jump to Map of List PeaksMethod: Clean | Average | OptimisticWinter Ascent Dates only (Help)Show List using U.S. Units (Feet)

New Zealand Region High Points

Showing Jan-Frode Myklebust's first ascent dates for climbed peaks (0 out of 17, or 0%)

RankRegionPeak Elev-M Range (Level 3)AscentsAscent Date
1.CanterburyMount Cook3724Southern Alps25 
2.West CoastMount Tasman3497Southern Alps6 
3.MarlboroughTapuae-o-Uenuku2885Lesser South Island Ranges20 
4.OtagoMount Earnslaw2830Southern Alps3 
5.Wanganui-ManawatuMount Ruapehu2797New Zealand North Island56 
6.WaikatoParetetaitonga2751New Zealand North Island5 
7.SouthlandMount Tutoko-The Divide2723Lesser South Island Ranges0 
8.TaranakiMount Taranaki2518New Zealand North Island66 
9.TasmanMount Franklin2340Lesser South Island Ranges1 
10.GisborneHikurangi1752New Zealand North Island1 
11.Hawke’s BayMakorako1726New Zealand North Island1 
12.WellingtonMitre1571New Zealand North Island3 
13.Bay of PlentyKapua1467New Zealand North Island0 
14.NelsonSaddle Hill1215Lesser South Island Ranges0 
15.NorthlandTe Raupua781New Zealand North Island2 
16.AucklandMount Hauturu722New Zealand North Island0 
17.Chatham and Other Outlying IslandsMount Dick705Minor Australia-New Zealand Outlying Islands0 

Front Runners List: Click to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Multiple Ascents Grid: Click for a grid showing all of Jan-Frode Myklebust's ascents of peaks on this list (including up to 10 rounds of repeats).

Compare Climbers: Click to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

New Zealand, unlike countries such as the United States, Canada, and Australia, does not have a tradition of strong local administrative divisions like states or provinces. As such, the list of 17 regions presented here are of relatively recent vintage and are not as well-recognized as, for example, the states of the U.S. or Australia. However, it is all we have to work with if we want a list for New Zealand equivalent to a state high point list.

There are only really 16 regions defined for New Zeland, and the 17th, the "Outlying Islands", is an artifical construct I created to hold the peaks on the Chatham Islands, Auckland Islands, the Snares, Campbell Island, Antipodes Islands, Bounty Islands, and the Kermandec Islands. All of these are conisdered part of metropolitan New Zealand, in contrast to the dependencies of the Cook Islands, Tokelau, and Niue, so therefore should be part of a region. I could not determine which region these islands belonged to, so I created a new region to hold them.

This looks like a fun list to try and complete, with a nice variety to it. The peaks in the Southern Alps are very difficult, but the remainder do not seem unduly hard to attain, except for getting to the Auckland Islands to do Mount Dick.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Jan-Frode Myklebust   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 582277 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service