Jump to Map of List PeaksMethod: Clean | Average | OptimisticShow List using U.S. Units (Feet)

Ireland County High Points

RankCountyPeak Elev-M Range (Level 4)Ascents
10.DonegalErrigal Mountain751Northeast Ireland65
16.LouthSlieve Foye589Northeast Ireland28
23.MonaghanSlieve Beagh - East Ridge370Northeast Ireland18
24.LongfordCorn Hill276Northeast Ireland25
24.MeathSlieve na Calliagh276Northeast Ireland33
26.WestmeathMullaghmeen261Northeast Ireland25
2.WicklowLugnaquillia Mountain925Southeast Ireland92
6.CarlowMount Leinster795Southeast Ireland44
6.WexfordMount Leinster795Southeast Ireland44
9.DublinKippure757Southeast Ireland48
18.LaoisArderin527Southeast Ireland27
18.OffalyArderin527Southeast Ireland27
20.KilkennyBrandon Hill516Southeast Ireland25
22.KildareCupidstown Hill379Southeast Ireland30
1.KerryCarrauntoohil1039Southwest Ireland316
3.LimerickGaltymore Mountain919Southwest Ireland68
3.TipperaryGaltymore Mountain919Southwest Ireland68
8.WaterfordKnockmealdown794Southwest Ireland32
12.CorkKnockboy706Southwest Ireland26
5.MayoMweelrea814Western Ireland35
11.GalwayBenbaun725Western Ireland23
13.CavanCuillagh665Western Ireland41
14.LeitrimTruskmore647Western Ireland27
14.SligoTruskmore647Western Ireland27
17.ClareMoylussa532Western Ireland27
21.RoscommonCorry Mountain - South Slope410Western Ireland17

Front Runners List: Click to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

In recent years there have been some changes to the administrative counties in Ireland and they no longer match the traditional 26 counties. Some counties have been split, and then some have been later reconstituted. As of 2014, the net effect is that the former Dublin County is now administratively divided into 3 new counties plus the city of Dublin, and the cities of Cork and Galway are now separate from the surrounding namesake counties.

Since these changes are relatively minor, and the existing counties are well-known and have been around for hundreds of years, this list will continue to show the 26 traditional counties. If more change occurs, this policy may be reconsidered. But for now it still makes sense to keep the historic counties that everyone still knows and uses.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peak with Rank #1 on List;   = Other Peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 1146798 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2023 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service