Method: Clean | Average | OptimisticHide Unranked Peaks in ListWinter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

New England 4000-foot Peaks - Multiple Ascents Grid

Ranked Peaks have 160 feet of Clean Prominence

Showing all of Paul Rago's ascent dates (max 10 rounds) (Overall: 24 out of 68, or 35.29%)

RankPeak Elev-Ft  Prom-Ft TotalRound 1
Round 2
Round 3
Round 4
1.Mount Washington628861483 2007-09-16  2007-11-18  2008-07-06  
 Ball Crag6106311 2011-03-20    
2.Mount Adams57998613 2007-09-02  2008-02-16  2008-02-24  
 Agiocochook Crag57189     
3.Mount Jefferson57127531 2007-09-02    
 Nelson Crag5635351 2009-03-14    
 Sam Adams558593     
 Mount Clay55331391 2007-09-16    
 Bigelow Lawn Hill551259     
 Boott Spur5492981 2008-07-06    
 John Quincy Adams5410561 2008-02-24    
 Monticello Lawn Peak540713     
4.Mount Monroe53722542 2007-09-16  2008-05-14   
5.Mount Madison53664661 2008-02-24    
 Abigail Adams535540     
 Katahdin-South Peak526040     
 Adams 5525620     
7.Mount Lafayette524033204 2007-06-30  2007-08-05  2008-01-26  2008-05-25 
 Mount Monroe-West Peak519739     
8.Mount Lincoln50891694 2007-06-30  2007-08-05  2008-01-26  2008-05-25 
 Mount Franklin5000201 2008-05-14    
 Mount Truman500080     
 Pamola Peak491999     
9.South Twin49021502     
 Chimney Peak490060     
10.Carter Dome48322821     
 Slide Peak48066     
11.Mount Moosilauke480229321 2008-11-29    
12.North Twin4761281     
13.Mount Eisenhower47603351 2008-05-14    
14.Hamlin Peak4756496     
 South Howe Peak474080     
 North Howe Peak470012     
15.Mount Bond46982982 2007-08-25  2007-08-26   
 Slide Peak South469212     
16.Mount Carrigain46802223     
 Mount Hight4675115     
17.Middle Carter Mountain4600700     
 Mount Lethe458444     
18.Mount Guyot4560160     
 Mount Blue4529129     
 Mount Moosilauke-South Summit4523431 2008-11-29    
19.West Bond45201601 2007-08-26    
 North Carter Mountain452040     
 Southeast Castle450025     
20.Mount Garfield44808001 2009-02-01    
21.Mount Liberty44593791 2007-08-04    
22.Wildcat Mountain44221034     
23.South Carter Mountain4420220     
 Northwest Plateau441010     
24.Mount Hancock44001200     
25.Mount Mansfield439336331 2009-01-03    
26.South Kinsman Mountain435823981 2008-01-20    
 Southwest Twin435777     
 Northwest Castle433030     
27.Mount Flume43284081 2007-08-04    
28.Mount Field432016812 2009-03-14  2013-02-04   
28.Mount Osceola43202000     
 Wildcat B432040     
 South Hancock4319159     
 Fourth Howk431565     
30.Mount Pierce43102301 2008-05-14    
 Wildcat C4298138     
31.North Kinsman Mountain42932531 2008-01-20    
 Montalban Ridge-North Peak429393     
 Mount Hancock-Middle Peak428080     
 Carter Dome-South Peak427454     
32.Bondcliffs42651852 2007-08-25  2007-08-26   
33.Mount Willey4255255     
 Greenleaf Knob424545     
34.Zealand Mountain4240200     
34.Sugarloaf Mountain42403168     
36.Killington Peak42353315     
37.Crocker Mountain42261206     
 Mount Osceola-Middle Peak420080     
 Mount Pierce-South Peak418525     
 Mount Jim417292     
38.Mount Cabot41602661     
38.Old Speck41602700     
38.North Tripyramid41601320     
41.Mount Osceola-East Peak4156316     
42.North Brother41511256     
43.Bigelow Mountain41452845     
44.Saddleback Mountain41202446     
 Mount Mansfield-Adams Apple412060     
 Mount Mansfield-Lower Lip412040     
44.Middle Tripyramid4120240     
 Mount Osceola-West Peak411474     
46.Avery Peak4088268     
47.Mount Ellen40832132     
48.Camels Hump408018601 2007-08-19    
 South Tripyramid408080     
 Mount Cabot-Southeast Knob408020     
48.Cannon Mountain4080720     
50.Wildcat D4062287     
51.Mount Hale4054614     
52.Mount Jackson40523321 2008-05-13    
53.Mount Tom40513311 2009-02-07    
54.Mount Moriah4049922     
 Wildcat E404675     
55.Mount Passaconaway4043803     
56.Saddleback Mountain-The Horn4041461     
57.Mount Abraham4040880     
57.South Crocker Mountain4040340     
59.Owls Head4025825     
 Emerald Bluff402525     
60.Galehead Mountain4024264     
 Cutts Peak402020     
61.Mount Mansfield-The Nose4020160     
62.Mount Abraham40062861 2007-01-07    
62.Mount Waumbek40061289     
64.Mount Isolation4003203     
64.Mount Tecumseh40031723     
66.Mount Whiteface4000560     
 Mount Whiteface-Ledges400040     
 Mount Hancock-Northwest Peak4000120     
 Mount Hancock-East Peak400040     
66.Mount Redington4000440     
66.Spaulding Mountain4000585     
 Mount Waumbek-East Peak399639     
 Sandwich Mountain39601160     

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Paul Rago, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not the same as the Official AMC New England 4000-footer List. This list is similar, but it is based on strict mathematical cutoffs derived from careful reading of the USGS topographic maps. The differences are:

  • This list adds the Nose on Mount Mansfield, which clearly has 160 feet of clean prominence (200 feet of optimistic prominence, which appears the be the AMC standard).
  • This list substitutes Mount Guyot for South Hancock. Carefully looking at the USGS map shows that Guyot has 160 feet of clean prominence, while South Hancock only has 159.

It is not clear why the official AMC lists are inconsistent in the way they interpret the USGS contours, unless they have better surverying data used as criteria for their lists.

Selected Guidebook(s) for this List

       AMC White Mountain Guide, 28th Edition (Smith, Daniell)
       AMC Maine Mountain Guide (AMC Books)

Caution: These books feature many of the peaks on this list, but may not have information on all of them.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Paul Rago   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 2162864 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2019 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service