Method: Clean | Average | OptimisticHide Unranked Peaks in ListWinter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

New England 4000-foot Peaks - Multiple Ascents Grid

Ranked Peaks have 160 feet of Clean Prominence

Showing all of Bob Mattson's ascent dates (max 10 rounds) (Overall: 50 out of 68, or 73.53%)

RankPeak Elev-Ft  Prom-Ft TotalRound 1
Round 2
Round 3
Round 4
1.Mount Washington628861484 1984-06-11  1988-07-29  2010-05-30  2015-08-30 
 Ball Crag610631     
2.Mount Adams57998611 1984-06-11    
 Agiocochook Crag57189     
3.Mount Jefferson57127531 1984-06-11    
 Nelson Crag563535     
 Sam Adams558593     
 Mount Clay5533139     
 Bigelow Lawn Hill551259     
 Boott Spur549298     
 John Quincy Adams541056     
 Monticello Lawn Peak540713     
4.Mount Monroe53722541 2007-05-27    
5.Mount Madison53664661 1984-06-10    
 Abigail Adams535540     
6.Katahdin526842881 1987-08-01    
 Katahdin-South Peak526040     
 Adams 5525620     
7.Mount Lafayette524033202 1984-06-07  1987-10-10   
 Mount Monroe-West Peak519739     
8.Mount Lincoln50891692 1984-06-07  1987-10-10   
 Mount Truman500080     
 Mount Franklin500020     
 Pamola Peak491999     
9.South Twin490215021 2017-10-10    
 Chimney Peak490060     
10.Carter Dome483228211 2017-10-13    
 Slide Peak48066     
11.Mount Moosilauke480229321 2016-08-11    
12.North Twin47612811 2017-10-10    
13.Mount Eisenhower47603351 2007-05-27    
14.Hamlin Peak4756496     
 South Howe Peak474080     
 North Howe Peak470012     
15.Mount Bond46982981 2017-10-11    
 Slide Peak South469212     
16.Mount Carrigain468022231 2017-08-06    
 Mount Hight46751151 2017-10-13    
17.Middle Carter Mountain46007001 2017-10-13    
 Mount Lethe458444     
18.Mount Guyot45601601 2017-10-11    
 Mount Blue4529129     
 Mount Moosilauke-South Summit452343     
19.West Bond45201601 2017-10-11    
 North Carter Mountain452040     
 Southeast Castle450025     
20.Mount Garfield44808001 2017-09-09    
21.Mount Liberty44593791 2016-09-17    
22.Wildcat Mountain442210341 2017-10-12    
23.South Carter Mountain44202201 2017-10-13    
 Northwest Plateau441010     
24.Mount Hancock440012002 2016-09-25  2018-08-21   
25.Mount Mansfield43933633     
26.South Kinsman Mountain435823981 2017-07-03    
 Southwest Twin435777     
 Northwest Castle433030     
27.Mount Flume43284081 2016-09-17    
28.Mount Osceola432020002 1984-06-05  2017-07-16   
28.Mount Field432016811 1986-07-05    
 Wildcat B432040     
 South Hancock43191592 2016-09-25  2018-08-21   
 Fourth Howk431565     
30.Mount Pierce43102301 2007-05-27    
 Wildcat C4298138     
31.North Kinsman Mountain42932531 2017-07-03    
 Montalban Ridge-North Peak429393     
 Mount Hancock-Middle Peak428080     
 Carter Dome-South Peak427454     
32.Bondcliffs42651851 2017-10-11    
33.Mount Willey42552551 1986-07-05    
 Greenleaf Knob424545     
34.Zealand Mountain42402001 2017-10-11    
34.Sugarloaf Mountain42403168     
36.Killington Peak423533151 2018-07-21    
37.Crocker Mountain42261206     
 Mount Osceola-Middle Peak420080     
 Mount Pierce-South Peak418525     
 Mount Jim417292     
38.North Tripyramid416013201 2016-09-04    
38.Mount Cabot416026611 2017-10-28    
38.Old Speck41602700     
41.Mount Osceola-East Peak41563161 2017-07-16    
42.North Brother41511256     
43.Bigelow Mountain41452845     
44.Middle Tripyramid41202401 2016-09-04    
 Mount Mansfield-Adams Apple412060     
 Mount Mansfield-Lower Lip412040     
44.Saddleback Mountain41202446     
 Mount Osceola-West Peak411474     
46.Avery Peak4088268     
47.Mount Ellen40832132     
48.Cannon Mountain40807201 2016-10-10    
48.Camels Hump40801860     
 South Tripyramid408080     
 Mount Cabot-Southeast Knob408020     
50.Wildcat D40622871 2017-10-12    
51.Mount Hale40546141 2017-10-07    
52.Mount Jackson40523321 2002-07-14    
53.Mount Tom40513311 2017-08-20    
54.Mount Moriah40499221 2017-10-01    
 Wildcat E404675     
55.Mount Passaconaway40438031 2016-08-21    
56.Saddleback Mountain-The Horn4041461     
57.Mount Abraham4040880     
57.South Crocker Mountain4040340     
59.Owls Head40258251 2017-10-22    
 Emerald Bluff402525     
60.Galehead Mountain40242641 2017-10-10    
 Cutts Peak402020     
61.Mount Mansfield-The Nose4020160     
62.Mount Waumbek400612892 2017-09-02  2019-08-18   
62.Mount Abraham4006286     
64.Mount Tecumseh400317232 2017-08-13  2019-08-04   
64.Mount Isolation40032031 2017-11-04    
66.Mount Whiteface40005601 2016-08-21    
 Mount Whiteface-Ledges400040     
 Mount Hancock-Northwest Peak4000120     
 Mount Hancock-East Peak400040     
66.Mount Redington4000440     
66.Spaulding Mountain4000585     
 Mount Waumbek-East Peak399639     
 Sandwich Mountain39601160     

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Bob Mattson, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not the same as the Official AMC New England 4000-footer List. This list is similar, but it is based on strict mathematical cutoffs derived from careful reading of the USGS topographic maps. The differences are:

  • This list adds the Nose on Mount Mansfield, which clearly has 160 feet of clean prominence (200 feet of optimistic prominence, which appears the be the AMC standard).
  • This list substitutes Mount Guyot for South Hancock. Carefully looking at the USGS map shows that Guyot has 160 feet of clean prominence, while South Hancock only has 159.

It is not clear why the official AMC lists are inconsistent in the way they interpret the USGS contours, unless they have better surverying data used as criteria for their lists.

Selected Guidebook(s) for this List

       AMC White Mountain Guide, 28th Edition (Smith, Daniell)
       AMC Maine Mountain Guide (AMC Books)

Caution: These books feature many of the peaks on this list, but may not have information on all of them.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Bob Mattson   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 2165492 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2019 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service