Method: Clean | Average | Optimistic Winter Ascent Dates only (Help)Count a peak only once per dayShow List using Metric Units

Kentucky County High Points - Multiple Ascents Grid

RankGeographyPeak Elev-Ft
TotalRound 1
1.HarlanBlack Mountain41391919  
2.LetcherBlack Mountain-Northeast High Peak3740320  
3.BellCumberland Mountain-Chadwell Benchmark342040  
4.PikePine Mountain-Birch Gap Peak3149769  
5.LeslieChestnut Knob2620440  
6.PerryDelphia Benchmark2540480  
7.KnottKnott-Letcher-Pike Triple County Point2380280  
8.FloydFloyd County High Point2340520  
9.KnoxKnox County High Point23221072  
10.ClaySugar Gap Northeast2235575  
11.WhitleyPine Mountain-Whitley County High Point2230280  
12.McCrearyRyans Creek Mountain2165715  
13.CaseyGreen River Knob1789699  
14.WayneMiller Benchmark1788166  
15.ClintonClinton County High Point1780390  
16.LaurelLaurel County High Point1770640  
17.OwsleyOwsley County High Point1730320  
18.PulaskiGreen River Knob-Southeast Slope169020  
19.MadisonBear Mountain1670260  
20.RockcastleCruse Ridge1650180  
21.MagoffinSignal Knob Lookout1640340  
22.JacksonCruse Ridge1633103  
23.BreathittTenmile Benchmark1620400  
24.MartinMartin County High Point1606346  
25.EstillZion Mountain1511601  
26.WolfeWolfe County High Point1490340  
27.JohnsonStuffley Knob1480500  
28.LincolnLincoln County High Point145040  
29.MontgomeryWestbrook Mountain1447257  
30.PowellPilot Knob1440510  
31.RowanLimestone Knob1435505  
32.FlemingSand Mountain1430404  
33.MenifeeMenifee County High Point1428298  
34.MorganMorgan County High Point1400252  
34.GarrardGarrard County High Point1400303  
34.LewisLewis County High Point1400330  
37.BathTater Knob1388338  
38.LeeLee County High Point1367317  
39.BoyleParksville Knob1364134  
40.ElliottElliott County High Point1360250  
41.LawrenceLawrence County High Point1330280  
42.CarterCarter County High Point1307117  
43.MarionPutnam Knob1270360  
44.TaylorTaylor County High Point121040  
45.GreenupGreenup County High Point1200110  
46.MetcalfeMetcalfe County High Point1190240  
47.ShelbyJeptha Knob Benchmark1188403  
48.HartFrenchman Knob1170400  
49.BoydBoyd County High Point1150460  
50.MonroeMonroe County High Point1141131  
51.RussellRussell County High Point1140170  
52.CumberlandCumberland County High Point113020  
53.ClarkClark County High Point1120230  
53.AdairAdair County High Point1120195  
55.LarueLarue County High Point1110160  
56.NelsonRohan Knob1095390  
57.NicholasNicholas County High Point1070100  
57.JessamineJessamine County High Point107065  
57.FayetteFayette County High Point107045  
60.BarrenLoves Knob1068183  
61.HarrisonLeesburg Benchmark1065130  
61.ScottLeesburg Benchmark1065130  
63.BourbonBourbon County High Point105035  
64.GreenGreen County High Point1040130  
65.HardinBlueball Hill1030260  
66.WashingtonWashington County High Point102050  
67.MeadeBee Knob Hill1010260  
67.BrackenBracken County High Point1010100  
69.RobertsonRobertson County High Point100979  
70.WoodfordWoodford County High Point100065  
70.OwenOwen County High Point100090  
70.MercerMercer County High Point100065  
70.MasonMason County High Point1000130  
70.GrantGrant County High Point100050  
75.BullittDawson Knob990520  
76.TrimbleFishers Ridge975130  
77.AllenAllen County High Point97095  
78.ToddPilot Rock966311  
79.GraysonBuzzard Ridge96313  
80.KentonKenton County High Point96050  
80.HenryHenry County High Point96075  
80.BooneBoone County High Point96050  
80.PendletonPendleton County High Point96030  
84.WarrenPilot Knob955340  
84.ChristianPilot Rock-West Slope95510  
86.FranklinWarfield BM94595  
87.AndersonAnderson County High Point94090  
88.CarrollCarroll County High Point93045  
88.GallatinGallatin County High Point930220  
90.SimpsonPilot Knob928243  
91.OldhamOldham County High Point92550  
92.BreckinridgeBreckinridge County High Point920130  
92.CampbellCampbell County High Point920135  
94.JeffersonSouth Park Hills902367  
95.EdmonsonEdmonson County High Point90065  
96.SpencerSpencer County High Point89020  
97.LoganRainbow Rock Knob WSW868193  
98.CrittendenWilson Hill842347  
99.HancockHancock County High Point840210  
100.ButlerButler County High Point82010  
101.TriggBuie Knob813228  
102.OhioOhio County High Point800105  
103.CaldwellCaldwell County High Point767212  
104.MuhlenbergMuhlenberg County High Point760135  
105.LivingstonLockhart Bluff754299  
106.HopkinsHopkins County High Point729234  
107.DaviessDaviess County High Point680135  
108.UnionChalybeate Hills673198  
109.LyonLeitch BM670   
110.McLeanBarrett Hill665190  
111.WebsterSteamport Hill640245  
111.CallowayCalloway County High Point64045  
113.HendersonWolf Hills588163  
114.GravesGraves County High Point5805  
115.CarlisleCarlisle County High Point550135  
115.MarshallMarshall County High Point5508  
117.HickmanHickman County High Point51025  
118.FultonFulton County High Point50023  
118.BallardBallard County High Point50025  
118.McCrackenMcCracken County High Point50065  

Main Peak List: Click here to see the standard peak listing, showning more informational columns and just the first ascent date.

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

About the Multiple Ascent Grid:

  • This table grid shows all peaks on a given list, and all ascents done by Robert Kleffner, up to 10 ascents per peak.
  • While many peakbaggers do not like to repeat ascents, some will try to do multiple "laps" or "rounds" of a favorite list, often one close to home.
  • The header for each ascent column shows, in parentheses, the total number of peaks climbed in each "round", and clicking the header link will sort your ascents for that round.
  • Due to space limitations, this listing has just the basic peak info, so up to ten date columns can be shown. Please use the main peak list (linked above) for more basic info and functionality.
  • Some climbers will log two ascents of the same peak on the same day--for example, when doing an out-and-back ridge run with other ascents sandwiched between two of the same peak. Some might not consider these to be two separate ascents for the purposes of doing multiple rounds. Clicking on the "Count a peak only once per day" link in the header will collapse multiple ascents of a peak on a single day into just one ascent for this grid list.

List Description

Note that this list is not authoritative and it is present here mainly so climbers can log their ascents. If you are serious about county highpointing in Kentucky, you should visit the County Highpointing Web Site, join the Yahoo County Highpointing Group, and refer to Andy Martin's book for the definitive listing of all the points.


Sources that were used to help me compile this list include:

  • Book County High Points by Andy Martin; list compiled 1995 by Carl Mills and Andy Martin.
  • Some latitude-longitude values for points in the lowlands of the state provided by John Hasch via the web site, and manually verified.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Robert Kleffner   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 855517 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2020 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service