U.S. State Summary Grid Lists

Ten Highest Peaks in Selected States and Regions

A 400-foot clean prominence cutoff is used to include peaks on these lists, even though in many states the cutoff is traditionally lower. That is why a summit like Mount Lincoln in the northeast, with only 169 feet of clean prominence, is not included. Note that the highest point in Nevada, Boundary Peak, also has less than 400 feet of prominence, so is not in this grid.

A red triangle (Δ) before the name of a peak means it has been climbed by Tom DeRoo. Click on the triangle to see the ascent information for that climb.

Δ Denali20,310
Denali-North Peak19,470
Mount Saint Elias18,008
Mount Foraker17,400
Mount Bona16,500
Mount Blackburn16,390
Mount Blackburn-Southeast Peak16,286
Mount Sanford16,237
Mount Churchill15,638
Mount Fairweather15,325
Δ Mount Rainier14,411
Liberty Cap14,112
Δ Mount Adams12,276
Δ Little Tahoma11,138
Δ Mount Baker10,781
Δ Glacier Peak10,520
Δ Bonanza Peak9511
Δ Mount Stuart9415
Δ Mount Fernow9249
Goode Mountain9200
Δ Granite Peak12,799
Δ Mount Wood12,660
Castle Mountain12,612
Whitetail Peak12,551
Silver Run Peak12,542
Rainbow Peak12,540
Tempest Mountain12,469
Mount Peal12,409
Castle Rock Mountain12,401
Bowback Mountain12,351
Northeast States
Δ Mount Washington6288
Δ Mount Adams5799
Mount Jefferson5712
Mount Madison5366
Δ Mount Marcy5344
Δ Katahdin5268
Mount Lafayette5240
Δ Algonquin Peak5115
Δ Mount Haystack4961
Mount Skylight4925
Δ Mount Hood11,239
Δ Mount Jefferson10,497
Δ South Sister10,358
Δ North Sister10,085
Δ Middle Sister10,047
Sacajawea Peak9838
Hurwal Divide9776
Steens Mountain9733
Aneroid Mountain9702
Petes Point9675
Δ Borah Peak12,662
Δ Leatherman Peak12,228
Mount Church12,200
Diamond Peak12,197
Mount Breitenbach12,140
Lost River Mountain12,078
Mount Idaho12,065
Hyndman Peak12,009
USGS Peak11,982
Peak 1196711,967
Δ Gannett Peak13,804
Δ Grand Teton13,770
Fremont Peak13,745
Mount Warren13,722
Mount Helen13,620
Turret Peak13,600
Mount Sacagawea13,569
Jackson Peak13,517
Mount Woodrow Wilson13,502
Bastion Peak13,494
Δ Mount Elbert14,433
Δ Mount Massive14,421
Mount Harvard14,420
Blanca Peak14,345
La Plata Peak14,336
Uncompahgre Peak14,309
Crestone Peak14,294
Mount Lincoln14,286
Grays Peak14,270
Mount Antero14,269
Δ Mount Whitney14,498
Δ Mount Williamson14,373
White Mountain Peak14,246
Δ North Palisade14,242
Δ Mount Shasta14,162
Mount Russell14,088
Split Mountain14,058
Mount Langley14,026
Mount Tyndall14,019
Middle Palisade14,012
Δ Wheeler Peak13,063
Jeff Davis Peak12,771
Baker Peak12,305
Mount Moriah12,067
Mount Jefferson11,941
Pyramid Peak11,926
Charleston Peak11,916
North Schell Peak11,883
Mount Jefferson-North Summit11,814
Schell Creek Peak 359511,795
Δ Kings Peak13,528
Δ Gilbert Peak13,442
Mount Emmons13,440
Roberts Peak13,287
Gunsight Peak13,263
Henrys Fork Peak13,240
Mount Lovenia13,219
Tokewanna Peak13,165
Mount Powell13,159
Wasatch Peak13,156
Midwest States
Δ Black Elk Peak7231
Δ Odakota Mountain7200
Bear Mountain7166
Crooks Tower7137
Terry Peak7064
Δ Guadalupe Peak8749
Δ Bush Mountain8631
Shumard Peak8615
Bartlett Peak8508
Δ Baldy Peak8378
Δ Mauna Kea13,796
Δ Mauna Loa13,679
Puu Makanaka12,414
Haleakala Crater-South Rim8432
Puu o Maui8193
Puu Kukui5788
Δ Humphreys Peak12,633
Agassiz Peak12,356
Fremont Peak11,969
Doyle Peak11,460
Δ Mount Baldy11,403
Mount Ord11,357
Paradise Butte11,150
Δ Escudilla Mountain10,912
Δ Mount Graham10,720
Kendrick Peak10,418
New Mexico
Δ Wheeler Peak13,161
Δ Truchas Peak13,102
North Truchas Peak13,024
Big Costilla Peak12,931
Vintrero Benchmark12,881
Lake Fork Peak12,881
Chimayosos Peak12,841
Jicarita Peak12,835
Peak 1281912,819
Venado Peak12,734
Southeast States
Δ Mount Mitchell6684
Δ Clingmans Dome6643
Δ Mount Guyot6621
Mount Le Conte6593
Mount Chapman6417
Richland Balsam6410
Celo Knob6327
Blackstock Knob6320
Waterrock Knob6292
Roan High Knob6285

Copyright © 1987-2019 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service