Snapshot Year/Month Grid-Highest Point Reached

Steve Dixon's Ascents by Year/Month

Links for other Snapshot Grids:Use Feet/Miles Color Ranges
  Highest Peak Climbed    Most Prominent Peak Climbed    Most Isolated Peak Climbed    Most Vertical Gain Hiked    Highest Climber-Defined Quality    Top Ascents in all Categories  


1994   Δ Titano        
1996       Δ Ben Nevis    
1997    Δ Buckden PikeΔ IngleboroughΔ WhernsideΔ Great Shunner FellΔ Scafell PikeΔ HelvellynΔ HelvellynΔ Great Gable
1998Δ Great DoddΔ Allen CragsΔ Scafell PikeΔ BlencathraΔ Scafell PikeΔ Back TorΔ SkiddawΔ BraeriachΔ Arnside KnottΔ Old Man of Coniston Δ Kirk Fell
1999Δ Stybarrow DoddΔ Pen y Fan Δ Ben NevisΔ SnowdonΔ Bradda HillΔ High RaiseΔ OlympusΔ RobinsonΔ Ill BellΔ YarlsideΔ Lovely Seat
2000Δ SkiddawΔ Cadair Idris-PenygadairΔ Bowfell-North TopΔ Ben NevisΔ Cross FellΔ Dale HeadΔ Pillar-Black CragΔ Carnedd LlewelynΔ KinabaluΔ Red ScreesΔ Scafell PikeΔ Mickle Fell
2001Δ BranstreeΔ Loadpot Hill  Δ Kinder ScoutΔ HelvellynΔ Fleetwith PikeΔ Glyder FawrΔ Jebel ToubkalΔ UllscarfΔ Harter FellΔ Old Man of Coniston
2002Δ KnottΔ Bowscale FellΔ Jebel DyrΔ Starling DoddΔ Scafell PikeΔ CarrauntoohilΔ BlencathraΔ SlatterjaekΔ High PikeΔ BrandonΔ Hard KnottΔ Calf Top
2003Δ Aran FawddwyΔ SkiddawΔ Scafell PikeΔ Aonach BeagΔ Dodd (Nenthead)Δ Scafell PikeΔ Kilimanjaro-XΔ Black FellΔ FairfieldΔ HelvellynΔ PillarΔ Fairfield
2004Δ Worcestershire BeaconΔ BlencathraΔ Scafell PikeΔ Goat FellΔ Ben LuiΔ WrekinΔ SnæffelΔ Brown Clee HillΔ GaldhøpiggenΔ SkiddawΔ Ben VorlichΔ Cleeve Common
2005Δ Ben MoreΔ BlencathraΔ TryfanΔ Carn Mor DeargΔ Bidean Nam BianΔ Rysy-N PkΔ Moelwyn MawrΔ TryfanΔ Scafell PikeΔ HelvellynΔ HelvellynΔ Helvellyn
2006Δ Dale HeadΔ Blake FellΔ White CoombΔ Bynack MoreΔ Fan BrycheiniogΔ Drygarn FawrΔ TriglavΔ Kackar DagiΔ AraratΔ PlynlimonΔ High StreetΔ Stony Cove Pike
2007Δ Moel LlyfnantΔ Glas MaolΔ Rhobell FawrΔ Slieve DonardΔ Ben MoreΔ MulhacénΔ Scafell PikeΔ Botley HillΔ BreithornΔ Ditchling BeaconΔ Walbury HillΔ Black Down
2008Δ Christ CrossΔ Ben OssΔ Dow CragΔ BowfellΔ Mullach Clach a'BhlairΔ TryfanΔ Carn FadrynΔ Place FellΔ Doi InthanonΔ Meigle HillΔ Melmerby FellΔ Howden Edge
2009Δ Frenni FawrΔ Swinklebank CragΔ An Caisteal Δ LochnagarΔ Dow CragΔ TryfanΔ MusalaΔ Scafell PikeΔ Black FellΔ Tinside RiggΔ Naughtberry Hill
2010Δ Periton HillΔ BlencathraΔ Cruach ArdrainΔ Great GableΔ Meall a'BhuiridhΔ ZugspitzeΔ Scafell PikeΔ Black Hambleton Δ Cross FellΔ MerrickΔ Cringle Moor
2011Δ CrowboroughΔ Hessary TorΔ Great Links TorΔ Carn an t-Sagairt MorΔ Cairn of ClaiseΔ HelvellynΔ Phu Si HillΔ Beacon HillΔ MoldoveanuΔ MillforeΔ Druim na h-EarbaΔ Branstree
2012Δ Great WhernsideΔ Great DoddΔ SnowdonΔ Pen-y-ghentΔ Beinn A’ GhloΔ HvannadalshnúkurΔ TryfanΔ Darnbrook FellΔ Scafell PikeΔ Longridge FellΔ Knock of CrieffΔ White Hill
2013 Δ OlympusΔ Watch HillΔ HelvellynΔ Meall nan TarmachanΔ MaglicΔ CalfΔ Yr EiflΔ Illgill HeadΔ BlencathraΔ Dingli CliffsΔ Hart Crag
2014Δ Barbon Low FellΔ SkiddawΔ GrasmoorΔ High SeatΔ Beinn DorainΔ Featherbed MossΔ Maja KolataΔ Wild Boar FellΔ Scoat FellΔ fort de la revereΔ Cruz AltaΔ Fairfield
2015Δ RuivoΔ Scafell PikeΔ Kinder LowΔ CalfΔ Stob a'Choire Odhair Δ KorabΔ BowfellΔ Old Man of Coniston Δ Black HambletonΔ Ingleborough
2016Δ WhernsideΔ SnowdonΔ Carnedd LlewelynΔ Beinn EunaichΔ IngleboroughΔ Kirkby MoorΔ AzhadaakΔ YushanΔ FairfieldΔ Cronkley FellΔ MarjanΔ Veliki Kabal
2017Δ HelvellynΔ Glyder FachΔ Pen-y-ghentΔ Stob GhabharΔ Calf TopΔ Great EndΔ WildspitzeΔ Dale HeadΔ Cross Fell Δ Great Shunner FellΔ Mam Tor
2018Δ GrasmoorΔ Cadair BerwynΔ St Sunday CragΔ Wild Boar FellΔ Montanha do PicoΔ Kinder Low      


Legend for Color Coding

6,000 meters or more
4,000 to 5,999 meters
3,000 to 3,999 meters
1,500 to 2,999 meters
600 to 1,499 meters
Below 600 meters

About the Snapshot Year-Month Grid

General Considerations:

  • "-X" after a peak name means an unsuccessful ascent, for example "Rainier-X".
  • A parenthetical name is a non-summit goal hike, for example, "(Snow Lake Hike)" or "(Rainier)".
  • The Δ triangle symbol is a hyperlink to the detailed Ascent Page for that ascent. The peak name is a link to the Peak Page for that peak.
  • The color of the cell shows how high, prominent, isolated, or high-quality the peak/ascent is, and the color ranges are shown in the legend to the left.
  • If the color is based on altitude, prominence, or vertical gain, you can switch between meters-based ranges or feet-based ranges. These are set up to be generally equivalent.

This grid comes in seven "flavors", each one showing a different "top" peak for a month. The flavors or categories are:

  1. Highest Point Reached. Can be an unsucessful attempt or non-summit goal hike.
  2. Highest Peak Climbed. Sometimes not the same as highest point, if that point was an unsuccessful ascent or a non-summit goal hike.
  3. Most Prominent Peak climbed. Note that many peaks in the database do not yet have a prominence value.
  4. Most Isolated Peak climbed. Isolation values may not be 100% accurate, since most are cacluated to nearest higher peak in the database.
  5. Peak with most vertical gain hiked. Note that many climbers do not enter vertical gain information on their ascents. Also, if several summits are grouped in a "trip", then the total gain for all ascents in that trip is assigned to the trip high point.
  6. Peak with the highest "Quality" value--this is a subjective number from 1-10 given by the climber. Note that many climbers have not given any of their ascents quality numbers.
  7. Finally, "Top Ascents in All Categories", which shows, for each month, the unique peaks from all the 6 other categories. In many cases, one or two peaks will be the leader in the 6 categories, since often the highest peak climbed for a month is also the highest point reached, the most prominent peak, and the one with the most gain. But in some cases several peaks may appear for a month.

Copyright © 1987-2018 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service