Snapshot Year/Month Grid-Highest Point Reached

Tim Hagan's Ascents by Year/Month

Links for other Snapshot Grids:Use Metric Color Ranges
  Highest Peak Climbed    Most Prominent Peak Climbed    Most Isolated Peak Climbed    Most Vertical Gain Hiked    Highest Climber-Defined Quality    Top Ascents in all Categories  


1971   Δ Fuller Δ Si      
1972Δ Calton HillΔ Arthur’s SeatΔ Dunslair HeightsΔ Ben CleuchΔ Windlestraw LawΔ Dunslair HeightsΔ Andrewhinney Hill  Δ Ben NevisΔ Ben MacduiΔ Ladhar Bheinn
1973  Δ SnoqualmieΔ Si Δ Meikle Says LawΔ Blackhope Scar  Δ BowfellΔ Buachaille Etive MorΔ Ben Nevis-X
1974  Δ Sron a'ChoireΔ Ben Nevis  Δ Big SnowΔ HinmanΔ (Cowlitz Cleaver)Δ Ben NevisΔ Stob an FhuarainΔ Carn Crom
1975Δ Ben Attow  Δ Cobbler-N PkΔ Am BodachΔ SilverΔ RainierΔ Observation RockΔ Point 5700 - Kaleetan SouthΔ Scafell PikeΔ Cobbler-N Pk 
1976 Δ Ben Nevis Δ Glamaig Δ Allermuir HillΔ Blanc-XΔ Petite FourcheΔ Ben NevisΔ BowfellΔ Ben Lui 
1977Δ Stob BanΔ Lochnagar Δ Sgurr MórΔ Ben Starav    Δ Ben More Δ Meall Buidhe
1978Δ Ben LawersΔ Arthur’s Seat Δ Cairn Gorm-Fiacaill a'Choire ChoisΔ Ben StaravΔ Bidean Nam BianΔ KaleetanΔ McClellan ButteΔ Tokaloo RockΔ Roosevelt NorthΔ Defiance 
1979 Δ (Si) Δ (Si)Δ Snoqualmie Δ RainierΔ SloanΔ BakerΔ Third MotherΔ McClellan ButteΔ Denny
1980 Δ TeneriffeΔ GraniteΔ PhelpsΔ HiboxΔ (Camp Muir)Δ GlacierΔ DragontailΔ ThomsonΔ Observation Rock Δ Denny
1981Δ GraniteΔ ErieΔ SnoqualmieΔ ErieΔ GlacierΔ DanielΔ BucknerΔ Rainier-XΔ Old BaldyΔ Castle Δ Granite
1982Δ Denny Δ SilverΔ BakerΔ (Camp Muir)Δ PinnacleΔ AdamsΔ RainierΔ BaringΔ GraniteΔ Pyramid 
1983 Δ GraniteΔ Second MotherΔ HoodΔ Jack-XΔ Cathedral RockΔ RainierΔ AdamsΔ Glacier-XΔ Shasta-XΔ BanderaΔ Orizaba
1984Δ PopocatépetlΔ GraniteΔ Persis Δ Rainier-XΔ TinkhamΔ RainierΔ ShuksanΔ ElkΔ CrescentΔ Pitcher 
1985Δ GraniteΔ Crystal Mountain-Summit HouseΔ SnoqualmieΔ SilverΔ StuartΔ RainierΔ DanielΔ RainierΔ Granite   
1986  Δ Davis Peak SouthwestΔ SnoqualmieΔ LennoxΔ IngallsΔ RainierΔ DomeΔ IvesΔ SnoqualmieΔ Copper 
1987Δ Chimborazo Δ GraniteΔ Park ButteΔ AdamsΔ KyesΔ BakerΔ South Early Winter SpireΔ Cave RidgeΔ AltaΔ RooseveltΔ Aconcagua-X
1988 Δ Bandera Δ GraniteΔ Saint HelensΔ TiffanyΔ FortressΔ Sluiskin Mountain-The SquawΔ Tolmie   
1989   Δ McClellan Butte-XΔ NavahoΔ RainierΔ (Mount Healy Overlook)Δ SnowkingΔ MaudeΔ Tamanos Δ McCue Ridge
1990  Δ Margaret Δ Little KachessΔ Devils DomeΔ RainierΔ Huayna Potosí-XΔ Austria   
1991 Δ Margaret Δ SilverΔ Saint HelensΔ TahtlumΔ Logan-XΔ SilverΔ LennoxΔ Golden Horn Δ Florence
1992Δ (Camp Muir)Δ GraniteΔ Hood Δ Denali-X Δ SilverΔ White Δ Cashmere Δ Granite
1993Δ AmabilisΔ Amabilis Δ Angels LandingΔ Humphreys Δ Dumbell-XΔ SurpriseΔ Rainier-XΔ Maude  
1994Δ GraniteΔ Amabilis Δ Granite Δ (Panhandle Gap)Δ Black-XΔ AthabascaΔ SilverΔ Liberty BellΔ Clark's 
1995  Δ SnoqualmieΔ McClellan Butte-XΔ Whitney-XΔ BakerΔ TempleΔ Huckleberry Δ Kaleetan  
1996 Δ Snoqualmie-XΔ GraniteΔ Index-XΔ SilverΔ Crooked BumΔ RainierΔ ChairΔ Huayna Picchu   
1997   Δ SilverΔ SilverΔ AvalancheΔ BlackΔ RainierΔ Whitney Δ SnoqualmieΔ Snoqualmie
1998   Δ MailboxΔ SnoqualmieΔ Baker-XΔ Seven Fingered JackΔ DanielΔ Fremont Lookout   
1999  Δ Poo Poo PointΔ Gokyo RiΔ SilverΔ MillerΔ ChikaminΔ RedΔ SherpaniΔ Hinman-X Δ Poo Poo Point
2000 Δ Granite Δ JollyΔ IronΔ CrystalΔ Rainier  Δ North GardnerΔ Granite 
2001Δ GraniteΔ Rojas    Δ BakerΔ ChiwawaΔ BansheeΔ Bills  
2002 Δ Hex Δ HexΔ HogbackΔ TahtlumΔ (Camp Muir)Δ Observation RockΔ (Spider Gap)Δ Tusk O'GraniteΔ (Camp Muir)Δ Not so Sasse
2003 Δ Not so Sasse Δ West Tiger Mountain #3Δ CrystalΔ BurroughsΔ (Camp Muir)Δ BansheeΔ Indian HeadΔ Granite  
2004 Δ Granite Δ Mauna KeaΔ CrystalΔ TahtlumΔ Observation RockΔ Buckskin RidgeΔ Jebel Toubkal  Δ Defiance
2005Δ Sasse  Δ Sgor na h-UlaidhΔ (Crystal Lake)Δ TamanosΔ Burroughs  Δ Pyramid  
2006 Δ Hex Δ NavahoΔ NavahoΔ Peak 6624Δ Blanc-X  Δ (Hem Kund) Δ Catherine
2007   Δ (Fourth of July Pass)Δ SnoqualmieΔ TeanawayΔ Kaleetan-XΔ Fernow-X Δ Red TopΔ DefianceΔ Hex
2008Δ Gardner-XΔ Keechelus RidgeΔ WashingtonΔ Guye Peak-N PkΔ SnoqualmieΔ Little KachessΔ Tronsen 5940Δ Peak 7052Δ (Hem Kund)Δ (Tapovan)Δ HumpbackΔ South Bessemer
2009Δ Teanaway ButteΔ Dirty HarrysΔ Keechelus RidgeΔ SnowΔ Earl-XΔ LillianΔ Three Fools  Δ LabyrinthΔ HumpbackΔ Granite
2010Δ Pratt-XΔ Keechelus RidgeΔ ColumbiaΔ Easton RidgeΔ BaldyΔ (Dolma La)Δ Point 6008Δ (Spider Gap) Δ Seven Fingered Jack-XΔ Hibox-XΔ Cle Elum Ridge
2011Δ Columbia Δ South TigerΔ RattlesnakeΔ Yellow HillΔ MargaretΔ HiboxΔ Alta Δ French CabinΔ (Annette Lake) 
2012Δ West TigerΔ Taylor Δ Denny-X  Δ Rainier-XΔ DefianceΔ (Indian Pass)Δ HumpbackΔ Kachess Beacon 
2013Δ TigerΔ Dirty Harrys BalconyΔ West TigerΔ Rattlesnake Mountain-W PkΔ FortuneΔ Hard KnoxΔ AntlerΔ Devils HeadΔ Ben NevisΔ BonaparteΔ AraratΔ Olallie
2014Δ Old Pass HillΔ Rattlesnake Mountain-NW PkΔ Welldiggers AssΔ FreedomΔ NavahoΔ Lion RockΔ Andrew BenchmarkΔ NachesΔ A'ChralaigΔ Cowlitz RocksΔ MarysΔ Horse Lake
2015Δ Scout PatrolΔ BearscoutΔ WrightΔ WapaloosieΔ Beinn DeargΔ BakerΔ Old DesolateΔ Whitman CrestΔ Sluiskin Mountain-The Chief   


Legend for Color Coding

20,000 feet or more
14,000 to 19,999 feet
10,000 to 13,999 feet
5,000 to 9,999 feet
2,000 to 4,999 feet
Below 2,000 ft

About the Snapshot Year-Month Grid

General Considerations:

  • "-X" after a peak name means an unsuccessful ascent, for example "Rainier-X".
  • A parenthetical name is a non-summit goal hike, for example, "(Snow Lake Hike)" or "(Rainier)".
  • The Δ triangle symbol is a hyperlink to the detailed Ascent Page for that ascent. The peak name is a link to the Peak Page for that peak.
  • The color of the cell shows how high, prominent, isolated, or high-quality the peak/ascent is, and the color ranges are shown in the legend to the left.
  • If the color is based on altitude, prominence, or vertical gain, you can switch between meters-based ranges or feet-based ranges. These are set up to be generally equivalent.

This grid comes in seven "flavors", each one showing a different "top" peak for a month. The flavors or categories are:

  1. Highest Point Reached. Can be an unsucessful attempt or non-summit goal hike.
  2. Highest Peak Climbed. Sometimes not the same as highest point, if that point was an unsuccessful ascent or a non-summit goal hike.
  3. Most Prominent Peak climbed. Note that many peaks in the database do not yet have a prominence value.
  4. Most Isolated Peak climbed. Isolation values may not be 100% accurate, since most are cacluated to nearest higher peak in the database.
  5. Peak with most vertical gain hiked. Note that many climbers do not enter vertical gain information on their ascents. Also, if several summits are grouped in a "trip", then the total gain for all ascents in that trip is assigned to the trip high point.
  6. Peak with the highest "Quality" value--this is a subjective number from 1-10 given by the climber. Note that many climbers have not given any of their ascents quality numbers.
  7. Finally, "Top Ascents in All Categories", which shows, for each month, the unique peaks from all the 6 other categories. In many cases, one or two peaks will be the leader in the 6 categories, since often the highest peak climbed for a month is also the highest point reached, the most prominent peak, and the one with the most gain. But in some cases several peaks may appear for a month.

Copyright © 1987-2018 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service