Jump to Map of List PeaksMethod: Clean | Average | Optimistic Show List using Metric Units

High Points of Counties Crossed by the Continental Divide

Showing Ken Jones's first ascent dates for climbed peaks (36 out of 53, or 67.92%)

RankCountyPeak Elev-Ft Range (Level 5)Ascent Date
1.CO-LakeMount Elbert14,433Elbert-Massive-Fryingpan Area1993-07-24
2.CO-ChaffeeMount Harvard14,420Collegiate Peaks2005-07-17
3.CO-HinsdaleUncompahgre Peak14,309North-Central San Juan Mountains2008-09-01
4.CO-SaguacheCrestone Peak14,294Northern Sangre de Cristo Range2008-08-30
5.CO-ParkMount Lincoln14,286Mosquito Range1997-07-26 c
6.CO-Clear CreekGrays Peak14,270Central Front Range1995-08-12 a
6.CO-SummitGrays Peak14,270Central Front Range1995-08-12 a
8.CO-GunnisonCastle Peak14,265Elk Mountains 
8.CO-PitkinCastle Peak14,265Elk Mountains 
10.CO-BoulderLongs Peak14,255Rocky Mountain National Park Area 
11.CO-EagleMount of the Holy Cross14,005Northern Sawatch Range 
12.CO-MineralPhoenix Peak13,895La Garita Mountains 
13.CO-San JuanVermilion Peak13,894West-Central San Juan Mountains 
14.WY-FremontGannett Peak13,804Northern Wind River Range1992-08-04
14.WY-SubletteGannett Peak13,804Northern Wind River Range1992-08-04
16.WY-TetonGrand Teton13,770Teton Range1999-08-05
17.CO-LarimerHagues Peak13,560Rocky Mountain National Park Area 
18.CO-GrandPettingell Peak13,553Central Front Range2009-09-01
19.CO-ArchuletaSummit Peak13,300Southern San Juan Mountains 
20.CO-GilpinJames Peak13,294Central Front Range2000-10-16
21.CO-Rio GrandeBennett Peak13,203Southern San Juan Mountains2008-09-14
22.CO-ConejosConejos Peak13,172Southern San Juan Mountains 
23.WY-ParkFrancs Peak13,153Southern Absaroka Range2013-08-05
24.NM-Rio ArribaTruchas Peak13,102Santa Fe Mountains2004-07-04
25.CO-JacksonClark Peak12,951Medicine Bow Mountains2000-10-13
26.CO-RouttMount Zirkel12,180Central Park Range 
27.WY-CarbonMedicine Bow Peak-West Ridge11,920Medicine Bow Mountains2011-09-30 b
28.ID-LemhiBell Mountain11,612Lemhi Range2001-07-28
29.MT-MadisonHilgard Peak11,316Madison Range 
30.NM-CibolaMount Taylor11,301North San Mateo Mountains2000-05-26
31.NM-SandovalRedondo Peak11,254Jemez Mountains2003-07-26
32.ID-ClarkWebber Peak-East Peak11,200Beaverhead Mountains2001-08-14
33.MT-BeaverheadTweedy Mountain11,154Pioneer Mountains2016-07-21
34.NM-CatronWhitewater Baldy10,895Mogollon Mountains2004-07-05
35.MT-Deer LodgeWest Goat Peak10,793Anaconda Range2011-08-24
36.MT-GallatinWilson Peak10,705Madison Range 
37.MT-GlacierMount Cleveland10,466Lewis Range2017-08-18
38.MT-GraniteWarren Peak10,463Anaconda Range 
39.ID-FremontNorth Targhee Peak10,400Lionshead-Henrys Lake Ranges2001-08-15
40.MT-Silver BowTable Mountain10,223Highland Mountains2010-08-24 b
41.MT-PowellMount Powell10,168Flint Creek Range 
42.NM-GrantMcKnight Mountain10,165Black Range2001-05-12
42.NM-SierraMcKnight Mountain10,165Black Range2001-05-12
44.MT-RavalliTrapper Peak10,157Central Bitteroot Range2009-09-18
45.MT-FlatheadMount Stimson10,142Lewis Range 
46.WY-SweetwaterPine Mountain9550East Flaming Gorge Area 
47.MT-JeffersonCrow Peak9414Elkhorn Mountains2010-08-25 b
48.MT-Lewis and ClarkRed Mountain9411Flathead Range2017-08-12
49.MT-TetonRocky Mountain9392Rocky Mountain Front2017-08-13
50.NM-McKinleyCerros de Alejandro9166North San Mateo Mountains2004-09-06
51.NM-HidalgoAnimas Mountains High Point8565Animas Area2003-11-08
52.MT-PonderaPondera County High Point8440Rocky Mountain Front 
53.NM-LunaCookes Peak8408West Las Cruces Ranges2002-03-31

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

Important: This list show the highest points of the counties that the Continental Divide traverses. Note that many of these summits are not on or near the divide; often it does not go over or near the highest point in a county.


     Continental Divide Counties


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peaks climbed by Ken Jones   = Unclimbed peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 528373 times since 2004-11-01.

Copyright © 1987-2017 by All Rights Reserved. Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page Terms of Service