Jump to Map of List PeaksMethod: Clean | Average | Optimistic Show List using Metric Units

Mountaineers Tahoma Peaks

All 8 Groups Together

RankPeakSection Elev-Ft
Range (Level 6) Prom-Ft
5.Banshee PeakGroup 77420Mount Rainier East Foothills400
19.Barrier PeakGroup 6NullMount Rainier East FoothillsNull
1.Burroughs MountainGroup 8NullMount Rainier North FoothillsNull
27.Chutla PeakGroup 26020Tatoosh RangeNull
3.Cowlitz ChimneysGroup 7NullMount Rainier East FoothillsNull
4.Cowlitz Chimneys-Central PeakGroup 7NullMount Rainier East FoothillsNull
8.Crystal MountainGroup 5NullCentral South Cascade CrestNull
13.Dewey PeakGroup 5NullMount Aix AreaNull
32.Dixon MountainGroup 4NullTatoosh RangeNull
25.Double PeakGroup 7NullMount Rainier East FoothillsNull
30.Eagle PeakGroup 2NullTatoosh RangeNull
6.Goat Island MountainGroup 6NullMount Rainier MassifNull
14.Governors RidgeGroup 66620Mount Rainier East FoothillsNull
28.Lane PeakGroup 2NullTatoosh RangeNull
18.Manatee MountainGroup 3NullTatoosh RangeNull
10.Marcus PeakGroup 8NullSourdough MountainsNull
29.Mount AraratGroup 1NullMount Rainier West FoothillsNull
26.Mount WowGroup 16060Mount Rainier West Foothills2160
21.Naches PeakGroup 5NullMount Aix AreaNull
7.Palisades PeakGroup 87060Sourdough MountainsNull
17.Pinnacle PeakGroup 3NullTatoosh RangeNull
22.Plummer PeakGroup 3NullTatoosh RangeNull
11.Pyramid PeakGroup 1NullMount Rainier MassifNull
31.Shriner PeakGroup 5NullMount Aix AreaNull
14.South Slide MountainGroup 8NullSourdough MountainsNull
16.Stevens PeakGroup 46580Tatoosh RangeNull
12.Tamanos MountainGroup 6NullMount Rainier East FoothillsNull
23.Tatoosh PeakGroup 4NullTatoosh RangeNull
20.The CastleGroup 36460Tatoosh RangeNull
2.Tokaloo RockGroup 1NullMount Rainier West FoothillsNull
9.Unicorn PeakGroup 4NullTatoosh RangeNull
24.Wahpenayo PeakGroup 2NullTatoosh RangeNull

Front Runners List: Click here to see list completion progress by climbers that log their climbs using

Compare Climbers: Click here to compare ascents of up to 5 climbers working on this list.

List Description

Earning the Mountaineers Tahoma Peak Pins is somewhat complex. The 32 peaks are divided into 8 groups of 4 each, and to earn the First Pin you must climb at least 3 peaks in any 4 groups, and for the Second Pin you must climb 3 peaks in all 8 groups. So 12 of these peaks are required for the first pin, and 24 for the second. Consult the Mountaineers for which peaks are in which groups.

All these summits are in the southern foothills of Mount Rainier. The Irish Cabin Peaks List focuses on the foothills in the northern side of "The Mountain". Many of the Tahoma peaks are in the Tatoosh Range, a distinct crescent of low but rugged peaks lying due south of Mount Rainier. Completing this list in any form is not the for the causal hiker, but the ascents are generally not serious mountaineering challenges, either. Most of the peaks here are nice alpine scrambles.


Map Showing Location of Peaks

 = Peak with Rank #1 on List;   = Other Peaks

Click on a peak to see its name and a clickable link.

(Map only shows peaks ranked by clean prominence)

Click Here for a Full Screen Map

This page has been served 562765 times since 2004-11-01.

Questions/Comments/Corrections? See the Contact Page
Copyright © 1987-2016 by All Rights Reserved.